Thread: Legacy Woodworking Machines

Default Legacy Woodworking Machines

I'm still in the process of trying to find the right shopbot for me. I've been researching different machines and the software that runs them on the internet for months. However, the nagging problem is that I am just getting into this, so I have no experience with cnc, I don't know anyone else who does this sort of work, so researching on the internet just seems to make me more confused.

Primarily what I want to do with a cnc is build decorative pieces in wood for furniture, relief carvings of one sort or another. Obviously the versatility of the machine will hopefully add to the different types of work I can do with it, i.e. signs, cabinets, etc.

Does anyone have any experience with or know anything about the Artisan machines from Legacy Woodworking? It seems like it does a ton of cool stuff having a fifth axis but for some reason or another my gut says no, stick to looking for a Shopbot.

Will all these machines; Shopbot, Artisan, Cobra, and Laguna and all the others basically do the same thing?

I'm feeling like I did when I first started to learn about woodworking. You know, you want to learn how to make a particular cut and there are 100 different techniques and 100 different ways to do each technique, you just have to find the way that you prefer to do it.

Thanks for any thought or opinions that anyone can share. I have found this forum to be extremely helpful since coming across it a couple of weeks ago and it is another one of the selling points for me on the Shopbot. If anyone feels uncomfortable about posting any potentially negative opinions, please feel free to email me directly at fjbchicago@gmail.com.

Still searching in Chicago,

FJ Baker

John...
    Let me make a stab at this, but first remember that you are asking the "Chevy" guys to make comparisons to Ford, Toyota and Dodge. That said, I can answer most of your questions fairly impartially.