Thread: first projects

Default first projects

so i planned a couple easy projects on the bot to make sure that everything is accurate and functioning well. these were done in bluefoam (2in) with centurion upcut/ballnose bits.

the first "3d" test was carving some topo maps of the mountain ranges around my warehouse. cut time was about 2 hours at 2-3ips. i am happy with the results and look forward to doing more and more of these.
    the piece is 1ft by 3ft, my camera distorts things a little but it makes you feel closer to the piece.

GOPR1281 by strangesnowboarding, on Flickr

another project was my first CNC cut sign. it is also 2in foam, primed and painted. this is my first attempt at "fake" woodgrain and i think it is a promising start. sign is also 1ft by 3ft. it took around 1hr at 2-3ips.

GOPR1278 by strangesnowboarding, on Flickr

all the files were made in rhino3d, and toolpathed using MADcam. exported into gcode and then converted to shopbot code. it took a few tries but i think i have the workflow figured out!

i have also been doing some profile cutting to make random things for the warehouse. nothing worth photographs except the dust boot i made.
    1/4in plexi with some cheapo vinyl from the local hardware store. simple but effective!

GOPR1284 by strangesnowboarding, on Flickr

thanks for checking it out, i hope to be doing more and more as time goes on.

You are off to a fast start. That stuff looks great. Could you share what primer and paint you are using on the foam. There seems to be lots of controversy about the foams and coatings. It looks like your stuff turned out great.

Bob

Default mountain range file

So what was the process on creating the mountain range file ?

You just need a 3-d inkjet to spray on some snow.
    The decimal point seems to be the most important on the z axis... x & y not so much....
    ShopBot... Where even the scraps and things you mess up and throw away are cool....