Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Custom Fill In Sheets

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Towson MD
    Posts
    107

    Default Custom Fill In Sheets

    Is it possible to customize the fill in sheet for a .sbp script? I want a sheet with just the parameters appropriate to my routine.

    Thanks,
    Jim

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,679

    Default

    Jim,

    Provide a little more info on what it is that you would like to do. A fill-in sheet can be hacked a little, but maybe it would be better to make a custom cut file that would bypass the fill-in sheet.
    Scott

    If guns kill people, I guess pencils misspell words, cars drive drunk and spoons make people fat.

    "Those who hammer their guns into plows, will plow for those who do not" - Thomas Jefferson




  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Towson MD
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Scott,

    I want a custom fill-in sheet to contain only the data required for my routine. That would be

    Bit Diameter
    X Length of Material
    Y Length of Material.

    I'm looking for a cleaner way to enter my input scripts parameters than 3 input statements. If there is another way to enter 3 inputs with a single user prompt that would also work.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pope Valley CA
    Posts
    689

    Default

    Jim,

    If you have any programming experience, you could look into developing your own front end. There are samples for both VB6 and VB.Net in the Program Files\ShopBot\Developer Tools\ directory. The samples are for a table surfacing routine, but should give you a good idea of how to proceed.

    Ron
    Ron Sloan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,679

    Default

    Jim,

    That would be more along the line of what Ron has mentioned. Visual Studio Visual Basic 2010 Express is free.

    http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudi...-basic-express

    Otherwise, you can combine those into one input statement like this...

    INPUT "Bit diameter, material X length, material Y length?" &dia,&Xlength,&Ylength

    ...and your input would be like this for example .375,12,5.
    Scott

    If guns kill people, I guess pencils misspell words, cars drive drunk and spoons make people fat.

    "Those who hammer their guns into plows, will plow for those who do not" - Thomas Jefferson




  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Towson MD
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Thanks for the input but I don't really want to get that deep into the programming right now since that's what I do for a living

    For now I'll stick with the 3 input boxes.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    iBILD Solutions - Southern NJ
    Posts
    7,952

    Default

    You can hard code fill in sheet parameters right into an SBP.

    For example, here's what the Tabletop Surfacer tool generates as code:

    --------------------------
    SO,1,1 'Turns the router on
    MZ,1
    M3,0,0,1
    VC,1,,,,, 10
    CR,96, 48, T, 1, 4,-.01,1,2,1
    MZ,1
    M3,0,0,1
    END
    --------------------------

    VC - sets the values for the 1" cutter @ 10% overlap
    CR - cuts a rectangle that is 96,48 and .01" deep with an offset pocket

    Each parameter, separated by a [ , ] represents each line in the fill-in sheet.

    Doing it this way eliminates the need to use the VC or CR fill in sheets. Make sense?

    -B
    High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced ShopBot CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Towson MD
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Brady,

    Thanks for the tip but I was hoping the API would let me add/drop parameters from the fill-in sheet. I want the fill in sheet to contain only the parameters that are needed by my routine.

    On another note, is it possible to have the SK command show the key board in Jog mode?

Similar Threads

  1. Sb 3.8.30 vs. Fill-In Sheets
    By BrandanS in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-26-2015, 12:07 PM
  2. Anyone know how to fill letters in artcam?
    By dray in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-17-2013, 08:13 AM
  3. Fill In Sheet Command
    By dale_mccrary in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 07:08 PM
  4. FP fill-in problem
    By mikejohn in forum Archives2006
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-14-2006, 12:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •