Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Instructions

, Friday Harbor, San Juan Islands Washington

Default Instructions

I have downloaded the new 2.5 version of Aspire and I obviously have the ShopBot programs but I am really confused as to how to wrap a design around something round or down a cylinder. Where can I read some basic instructions how to use the programs so I can wrap something. I am tired of the trial and error routine that I have been using. I am just learning some I am looking for simple instructions.

Daryl I don't know about these programs but the "concept" you need to understand in order to make this work is this.

Lets say you have a 5" diameter column. You need to figure out what the circumference of the outside is (see free circumference calculator post above) doing it manually you multiply your diameter by 3.14.

Now take that figure 5"x3.14=15.70
    now make your new model 15.7"x (your length) and you resize your carving to fit the 15.7 shape

The whole idea is you have to imagine taking your column and "unrolling" it flat then fit your model to that flat model.

Just as if you were making a flat model on your table.
    There are probably more detailed instructions with your specific program and if someone knows a link for the specific tutorial you might want to post it for him.

Jack I completely understand what you are saying. Trouble is the screen really does, in my opinion, a poor job of showing it. What if a person wants to make a spiral with a picture or lettering? what do you do then?? I would really like to have something written so I could understand it easier. I just need to see it in writing. The following link in this message, Ive seen multiple times and it briefly shows what to do. I can't get to one of the screens shown in the Aspire link so that confuses me even more!