Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Aluminum Engraving Job

Default Aluminum Engraving Job

Hello all! I have a need for some engraving done on 80 separate pieces of aluminum the size of each piece varies but maintains a height of 2" - 3". These are going to be basic names engraved .125" deep into .5" and 1" thick aluminum. I am looking for someone local (I am in Fort Lauderdale Florida) so that we can work out a way to deliver the pieces that need to be engraved. OR I would like to see if anyone local would like to possibly come and assist me with doing this project at our location. We have a 4' x 8' Shopbot and I am very new to working with it. My higher ups are willing to work out arrangements for time spent and hotel arrangements if necessary If you send me your email I can forward over samples for reference, thank you for your time!

Josh-you can do this yourself on your machine. You need the right quality bit, some cooling lube, and make sure you always ramp into your part. Hold down is a huge part of the deal. The slightest part movement will blow your project.
    Since Brady has been active lately he can chime in with some feed/speed advice.
    You should remind us of your machine and router/spindle model for more precise advice.
    There is also a couple laser guys who cut logo's and letters into aluminum in the area.

Quote Originally Posted by bleeth View Post
    Josh-you can do this yourself on your machine. You need the right quality bit, some cooling lube, and make sure you always ramp into your part. Hold down is a huge part of the deal. The slightest part movement will blow your project.
    Since Brady has been active lately he can chime in with some feed/speed advice.
    You should remind us of your machine and router/spindle model for more precise advice.
    There is also a couple laser guys who cut logo's and letters into aluminum in the area.