Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Surfacing question

Default Surfacing question

Greetings all,
    I am new to the shopbot and surfaced the spoil board on my used PRS Alpha or the first time today. At all of the corners other than the x-0 y-0 corner I got these little triangles at each pass. Has anyone had this problem or might be able to tell me what is wrong?
    Thanks
    JB
    Attached Images Attached Images

Set your stepover percentage to 15% or 20% when you make your flattening file...or it will do what you show.

Also - check that your spindle is dead square to the table...looks like you've got a few 'steps' from the spindle/router being a little off kilt. You may have to remove the spindle & spindle plate to properly square it up. It's a little bit of a pain, but once you dial it in, it's good forever.

-B
    High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced ShopBot CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com

Thanks Brady. I only had it set at 10% for a step over. Also, it has slight lines on all the passes along the x-axis but the ones going along the y-axis are smooth as can be. Is that what you are speaking about concerning the spindle being a bit out of square? Any suggestions were to look for the process of doing this?
    JB

Read my post & See if this helps: http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/showthread.php?t=14893

-B
    High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced ShopBot CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com

Thanks for the help!
    JB

I just make a tool in my database for the flattening bit and create a pocketing profile. I have several at different depths so it is fast to setup. I think I have a 50% stepover and I make the rectangle larger then my table so the bit goes past the edges.

I use a 1 1/4" bit from Dimar to flatten my table. Don't recal what stepover I had, but it left the little triangles (although they were pretty tiny).