Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: trying to insert offset

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Larrabee IA
    Posts
    171

    Default trying to insert offset

    I am trying to insert a offset of y into a file can anyone show me what the line should look like?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Garland Tx
    Posts
    2,334

    Default

    Mark

    what are you trying to do? A step and repeat?

    Steve

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Larrabee IA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Steve
    Yep trying to do two signs same thing just have it move in Y and do it all over again trying to be able to pull the one thats done off and reload then let it come back and start over but with the command to ask just in case I'm not ready to let it cut again Does that make any sense

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Garland Tx
    Posts
    2,334

    Default

    Mark

    Since you are only trying to cut signs at two locations, I think this method is easiest ... image 1 shows the structure of the file and image 2 shows an actual file that uses the variable and pause although always cutting at the same location.

    hopefully I haven't confused the situation!

    Steve
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Larrabee IA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Steve
    I get orders for little arrow signs for trail markers and want to put 0,0 in the middle of the jig and then have the shopbot jog either a negative number and cut the first arrow and then when done jog a postive number and cut the next arrow while I'm unloading the first and putting a new blank in so it can come back and start the process all over I'm using vaccum pucks to hold in place just trying to speed things up a bit over just cutting one at a time

  6. #6
    garyc Guest

    Default

    Mark...
    Just got your PM. Study up on the [VO] command. It will allow you to do what you wish by applying a temporary offset that can be toggled at will. This command must be placed and run from within a file, will not work from the keyboard.

    Offset is toggled by the first parameter.

    VO,1, x offset, y offset, z offset (turns on and sets offsets)

    run file using offset

    VO,0 (turns offsets off)

    run file using no offset

    repeat as needed

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,845

    Default

    Mark,

    Here's another way and it's quite similar to what your describing. I use this for cutting outlet boxes for a log home company. All I have to do is cut our the centers. As one is cutting, I'm swapping out the other one. When one is done, I push a button and the machine jogs over to the other one and cuts that one. Back and forth like that for hours sometimes.

    Start with drawing your jig and your parts at their respective locations (see two place jig example).

    I use a small inset ring to set the xy zero at the jig once it's mounted on the table much in the same way that you use the z zero plate routine to set the z.

    Then make the toolpath for each of your parts into one file. One will cut in the negative position and one in the positive position. Open the file in an editor and modify it similar to this to suit your needs.


    TR,12000

    'Turning router ON
    SO,1,1
    PAUSE,2

    MS,8.0,3.0
    JZ,3.250000

    REPEAT1:

    J3,-13.187400,-0.531250,3.250000
    M3,-13.187400,-0.531250,2.250000
    M3,-13.187400,1.281250,2.123635
    M3,-9.812400,1.281250,1.888333
    M3,-9.812400,-0.531250,1.761968
    M3,-13.187400,-0.531250,1.526667
    M3,-13.187400,1.281250,1.400301
    M3,-9.812400,1.281250,1.165000
    M3,-9.812400,-0.531250,1.038635
    M3,-13.187400,-0.531250,0.803333
    M3,-13.187400,1.281250,0.676968
    M3,-9.812400,1.281250,0.441667
    M3,-9.812400,-0.531250,0.315301
    M3,-13.187400,-0.531250,0.080000
    M3,-13.187400,1.281250,0.080000
    M3,-9.812400,1.281250,0.080000
    M3,-9.812400,-0.531250,0.080000
    M3,-13.187400,-0.531250,0.080000
    J3,-13.187400,-0.531250,3.250000

    WAITHERE1:
    &TEST=%(51)
    IF &TEST=1 THEN GOTO REPEAT2
    PAUSE .2
    GOTO WAITHERE1

    REPEAT2:
    J3,9.812600,-0.531250,3.250000
    M3,9.812600,-0.531250,2.250000
    M3,9.812600,1.281250,2.123635
    M3,13.187600,1.281250,1.888333
    M3,13.187600,-0.531250,1.761968
    M3,9.812600,-0.531250,1.526667
    M3,9.812600,1.281250,1.400301
    M3,13.187600,1.281250,1.165000
    M3,13.187600,-0.531250,1.038635
    M3,9.812600,-0.531250,0.803333
    M3,9.812600,1.281250,0.676968
    M3,13.187600,1.281250,0.441667
    M3,13.187600,-0.531250,0.315301
    M3,9.812600,-0.531250,0.080000
    M3,9.812600,1.281250,0.080000
    M3,13.187600,1.281250,0.080000
    M3,13.187600,-0.531250,0.080000
    M3,9.812600,-0.531250,0.080000
    J3,9.812600,-0.531250,3.250000
    JZ,3.250000

    WAITHERE2:
    &TEST=%(51)
    IF &TEST=1 THEN GOTO REPEAT1
    PAUSE .2
    GOTO WAITHERE2


    The WAITHERE loop is triggered with a little momentary switch button that is hooked up to input 1. Mine is wired in and mounted at the gantry, but you could just as well temporarily hook a hand held button up to the existing z zero plate. When I'm ready, I push the button, it comes out of the loop and goes to the other part.

    Otherwise, you could do a PAUSE and GOTO which would require you to go to the keyboard each time to hit enter and continue (time waster). Or, you could just do a PAUSE for a set time, but if you're not ready, it's gonna happen anyway unless you stop it.

    For my situation, I use some cam clamps to jam the blocks into the corners of the jig.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Scott




Similar Threads

  1. Insert Link
    By srwtlc in forum About this Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-17-2017, 03:26 PM
  2. Zero clearance insert
    By Michaelodunk in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-2015, 06:32 AM
  3. Insert shaper cutters
    By GlenP in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-29-2011, 10:23 PM
  4. MDF door insert tooling
    By bruce_taylor in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-19-2011, 09:55 AM
  5. Window Insert
    By jcauldwell in forum Folder 2007
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-06-2007, 06:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •