Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Help with z zero wires

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,008

    Default

    Working again however sticking wires into those little holes isnt fun! Thanks!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Rogers, Arkansas
    Posts
    1,005

    Default

    Bob,
    There is a little plastic tool that makes it much easier - wago tool. They probably included one with your shopbot. It's just a small, less than an inch, plastic hook. Mine was in a baggie in the binder for the manual.
    Ken Zey
    Lookout Mercantile / Digital Millwork
    Rogers, AR
    www.CedarSlabSigns.com
    www.lookoutmercantile.com
    www.digitalmillwork.com

    6x12 PRS alpha

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pope Valley CA
    Posts
    688

    Default

    Hi Bob,

    You mention that you have a spindle - something you might want to check out - I never use the ground clamp on mine. Unlike router motors, my HSD spindle is grounded, so the ground clamp is redundant.

    Try it out, by touching the ZZero plate to a bit in the spindle and see if it triggers your input in SB3.

    I don't remember how long I used the clamp, before I figured this out!

    Way easier/safer to use the ZZero plate without the clamp!
    Ron Sloan

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    7,830

    Default

    Yes..Wago tool i completely forgot about that. You might need to go to an electronics store or electrical supply and have to buy one. If i recall it looks kind of like an arrow with one of the side tips cut off. I guess it is meant to just lift up the metal clip so you can slip the wire in. I think this is what it looks like.
    This way you will at least know what you are looking for or possibly could make one yourself if you can't find one.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Kinglake Australia
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Thank you all. We are now fully operational. Why is it these things always happen when you have a deadline?

    So how did it happen - lack of focus by the male member of the team. For once it cant be the female's fault. I was sitting at the computer 6 feet away working on a freebie sign for a rebuilt nursery and cafe (still happening four years after our fires). Bob always has the iPad tune in radio running in the background - so far so good.

    Nikki our 18 month border collie loves watching youtube border collies and cows which now MUST happen when we go inside for lunch. She must have worked out that this happens thru the iPad and Apple TV to be seen on the normal TV and stood up feet on bench and barked at the iPad. So Bob got her favourite show "Dazzle" up on the iPad inbetween setting up his next job. Half watching her and half concentrating on his set up, he hit start instead of the Zzero function. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RmcTW...e_gdata_player

    She who must be obeyed has banned any future shows for Nikki and he who is the boss has learnt a valuable lesson.

    Thanks again for all your help - now to look for the little tool!!!

    Hugs
    Chrissy

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,008

    Default

    Thanks, Ken, Ron and Jack. Tried your idea Ron of clamping direct to the spindle housing it works fantastically well. Thank you!

    Has Shopbot ever done anything about monitoring input 1? It strikes me as being a far safer method (also idiot proof) if there is no circuit then the spindle just wont start. This episode has made us far more safety conscious as I can tell you its no fun bending down in front of a spindle with extra bits flying round!

    Anyway we are making a lanyard type safety system with 4 drop down cords. This will turn off the supply to the spindle contactor as well as the emergency software stop. The idea is I dont want to lose the cook but more importantly the ironing lady!

    I raised safety / OH&S concerns with Shopbot a few months back as I felt uneasy about the location on the main switch on the Buddy. I was worried about the spindle not turning off during a comms failure. They kindly said they were aware of these short comings and will get back to me. Anyone else got any safety suggestions - (for an old guy getting more dithery day by day!)

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    7,830

    Default

    Well i didn't want to bring it up but....

    In my version of the control software after you do a C2 there is a popup message telling you to disconnect your alligator clip and put away your plate. Do you not have that in your version? If so you would have avoided this whole problem

    I can say prior to them installing it into the pgm (i'm sure they got tired of repairing cables) I have never had mine get tore up like that. The way i have always done it and never had a problem was that i attach the clip to the lower roller bolt on the Z axis and i have never had a false reading or bad connection it has worked for me. I don't advise anyone else do that, it just works for me.

    You might want to sign Chrissy up for some first aid classes...I have a feeling it may come in handy real soon..... Good luck buddy!

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,008

    Default

    Jack I hadnt done the C2 BUT had the clip on ready tooooooo when I got side tracked by the puppy. Went straight to running the file sadly. I now look at the key switch then the spindle before hitting return to start spindle. Old dogs can learn new tricks!

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    7,830

    Default

    Old dogs can learn new tricks! Too bad we're not as smart as Dazzle! I can see why the pup likes watching that...hey maybe it will learn some new tricks!

    When i first started I made up a "countdown list" of steps to go thru and taped it to the bot and to the the computer and ran down that list before i hit the start button.
    I got so i would do a mental checklist and go over each step before i start.
    Now I just do everything second nature half the time never realizing "I already did that step"...so far i haven't missed one yet however it is always a good idea to keep the emergency stop button close by

    I seem to recall several versions ago that some type of checklist was written into the interface, or the ability to create one? You might want to check into that.
    Either that or get yourself a "co-pilot"
    X axis set? CHECK!
    y AXIS set? CHECK!
    Z axis set? CHECK!
    Are your seats in the upright and locked position? CHECK!
    Ready for takeoff? CHECK!
    "Ladies and gentlemen this is Captain Bob speaking...today we will be cruising at 2.3 IPS"

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    , Monongahela PA
    Posts
    26

    Default

    dangit...I just did the same thing yesterday

    I'm blaming the dogs as well

    And my clip is MIA.

    Thanks for the tip of clipping to the spindle instead of the tool

Similar Threads

  1. Replace Zero Plate Wires
    By nat_wheatley in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-09-2014, 11:12 AM
  2. Coiling Motor Wires ???????
    By Mark Farris in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-05-2013, 09:10 PM
  3. Best way to hold vacuum hose and wires to PRT
    By Greybarn in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-09-2010, 07:06 AM
  4. can you use e chain without removing all the wires?
    By knight_toolworks in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-08-2010, 11:01 PM
  5. X1/X2 Wires - What occurs when swapped?
    By kivimagi in forum Archives 2004
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-29-2004, 01:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •