Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How do you paint a sign using two different colours?

Default How do you paint a sign using two different colours?

How do you paint a sign with engraved areas and keep it looking professional without the colours blending together? I have attached an example of sign that I'll assume is painted in two different colours.

I've tried hand painting the engraved areas but the end result is not a crisp clean edge between the colours. I've tried spraying the engraved areas and then rolling another colour over the top but this causes the roller to dip slightly into unwanted areas and also a rolled finish doesn't look anywhere near as nice as using a spray gun.

I'll be working mainly with MDF and hardwood timber. Any help would be great.

Shane.
    Attached Images Attached Images

I AM JUST LEARNING TO MAKE SIGNS SO TAKE MY ADVISE WITH A GRAIN OF SALT.
    PAINT THE LETTER FIRST.. LET DRY... THE ROLLER YOU NEED IS A SMALL ROLLER WITH A TIGHT MAT... ROLL OUT MOST OF THE PAINT ON A SCRAP OF CARD BOARD. THEN ROLL AROUND AND OVER THE LETTERS VERY CAREFULLY. GO TO http://www.precisionboard.com/ WATCH THEIR VIDEO'S ONE SHOWS A MAN PAINTING LIKE I SUGGESTED TO YOU.. AGAIN I AM JUST LEARNING... ALSO GO TO THIS SITE AND ASK THE SAME QUESTION http://www.3dsignforum.com
    www.tgdesigns.net
    eking1953@yahoo.com

HE WHO WORKS WITH HIS HANDS IS A LABORER.
    HE WHO WORKS WITH HIS HANDS AND HEAD IS A CRAFTSMAN.
    HE WHO WORKS WITH HIS HANDS, HIS HEAD AND HIS HEART IS AN ARTIST.
    ST. FRANCIS OF ASSISI

I did an experiment this afternoon. I sprayed this slab of Huon Pine with a few layers of clear coat. Once all dried, I put engraved it using the CNC. Painted the engraved areas with black paint just using a paint brush and not worrying about putting black paint on the top surface.