Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Considering a Desktop and have some questions

Default Considering a Desktop and have some questions

Hi folks,

This is my first post here after a few days of poking around the forum and doing general research on ShopBot products. I'm very seriously considering my first CNC machine purchase, and ShopBot seems to be the obvious choice based on product quality, customer feedback, and level of support. Being a complete CNC newbie, I have some questions about the suitability of CNC for some of what I'd like to do. I'm hoping the members here can help provide me with some answers. Given my application and space limitations (and budget), I'm considering the ShopBot Desktop model.

I run a side business building custom table tennis paddles, so all of the questions/comments below are related to cutting wood. I currently use mdf paddle templates and a table-mounted router and pattern bit to cut out each paddle. It works and gives me repeatability, but I do have two primary issues:
    1. Paddle/handle shapes vary, and for each combination I need to create a new mdf template. I wouldn't be surprised if I have 40-50 templates I have to keep track of and store, and that number is growning. I wouldn't mind eliminating the mdf templates and the time it takes to create them.
    2. Regardless of the type of trim bit I use (straight, shear, spiral), router speed, or feed rate, I do usually end up with some tear-out along the edge. Nothing really bad, but it's something I like to eliminate if I can.

So, one of the main expectations I have is that CNC will address both of these issue. Obviously, I'll need to climb the learning curve for the software/hardware before I'll see any time savings, but given that this application is fairly simple, my hope is that it won't take too long. Regarding #2, my expecation is that the appropriate feed rate and multiple passes will eliminate tear-out. Are these reasonable expectations?