Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Plunge to surface after CR

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    94

    Default Plunge to surface after CR

    I was wondering if anyone has ever experienced this when running a CR or table resurfacing?

    After finishing the cut my Z returns home then plunges (fast) to zero while the router is still running before turning off the router. It's quite unnerving watching a rapid plunge touch the surface of a freshly surfaced table. I've looked through the file & can't see why it's doing this.

    Here's the code in my surfacing file:
    ---------------------------------------

    IF %(25)=1 THEN GOTO UNIT_ERROR 'Check to see software is set to inches
    SA 'Set program to absolute coordinate mode
    VC,2.75,,,,,15
    JZ,1.00 'Jog Z axis to safe height
    JA,2.00 'Jog A axis to safe height
    J3,0,0,1 'Jog to start position
    SO,1,1 'Turn on router 1
    PAUSE 2 'Give router time to reach cutting rpm
    MZ,0
    CR,97,49,T,1,4,0,1,2,1
    JZ,1
    SO,1,0 'Turn off router 1
    END
    '----------------------------------------------------------------
    UNIT_ERROR:
    C#,91 'Run file explaining unit error
    END
    Last edited by sbd1; 10-28-2012 at 12:06 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Fox Bay Industries Inc., Auburn WA
    Posts
    164

    Default

    Daren, When I surface my table, I use the CR mode and it does plunge back to zero. I did not really notice that it is at a rapid rate. I am using a PC router and I just turn it off before it gets to that point. When I run the CR file, I set it up to plunge from Zero, so the tool is already at Zero. Then the tool returns to where the file was started. Just my 2 cents. I will be following this thread and learn something. I'm sure one of the regulars will know. Wayne

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    1,499

    Default

    Instead of using CR to surface your table, you can create a pocketing toolpath in PartWorks or Aspire, and have much more control over the tool movements, without the return to Z0. Even better would be to draw a back-and-forth set of vectors and use a Profile toolpath, so you can surface using just back-and-forth motions instead of a pocketing motion. Fewer changes of direction means less ramping and faster surfacing.
    David Buchsbaum
    Beacon Custom Woodwork, Inc.
    dba Atlanta Closet & Storage Solutions
    404-309-9146
    david@atlantacloset.com

    atlantacloset.com
    beaconcustomwoodwork.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    94

    Default

    It appears that this "plunge at end" is a known feature of CR, but it's something I'm not comfortable with. So I've been looking into Paco's 'surfacing_along_XorY_axis.sbp' file after reading about it's virtues & it seems like a good alternative to CR. I believe that you (David) said in one thread that it was one of your most commonly used files. I look forward to trying it for surfacing next time.

    I've already tried testing it with some air cuts though & it's not cutting as expected. Here's what's happening:
    - I tell it to cut (a rectangle the size of 12" X by 6" Y) along the X axis.
    - It cuts one pass 12" along the X axis & stops (then asks if I want to cut another [which if I said yes, would be deeper but in the same X path]).
    - It seems to be missing the stepover command somehow (which I set at 80%).
    - It does the same thing if I reverse the 'cut along' axis from X to Y.

    I've looked at the code & believe it's coming from this section, but would appreciate some help identifying exactly what to change as I'm still fairly new with editing files. The file I have says "'PACO - 2007" at the top so maybe it's not the latest version. Thanks.

    ==========================================

    X_AXIS:
    BEGIN_X:
    PRINT "Now at "; &depth; " of an inch deep."
    J3,&start_x - &tool_radius,&start_y,0.03 - (&depth - &stepdown)
    M3,&start_x + (2 * &tool_diam),&start_y,-&depth / 2
    M3,&start_x - &tool_radius,&start_y,-&depth
    LOOP_X:
    MX, &start_x + &x_size + &tool_radius
    &yvalue = %(2) + &tool_stepover
    IF &yvalue > &y_size THEN GOTO FINISHED_X
    MY,&yvalue
    MX,&start_x - &tool_radius
    &yvalue = %(2) + &tool_stepover
    IF &yvalue > &y_size THEN GOTO FINISHED_X
    MY,&yvalue
    GOTO LOOP_X
    FINISHED_X:
    JZ,%(28)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,845

    Default

    Daren,

    Here's the version I've used in the past, maybe there's something missing in yours, but this one worked with what I think were your settings.

    2.75 diameter cutter at 80% stepover (just going by the VC setting in your first post)? Perhaps you have a value that is larger than your rectangle y size so it thinks it's done.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Scott




  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Thanks Scott. I compared every line in your file with mine & they're basically the same (it looks like you have spindle speed lines that I don't). So then I re-ran mine a few more times & figured out what works & what doesn't.

    You're correct, I'm using a 2.75" dia. bit with 80% stepover.

    If I tell the file to surface an area 12" X by 10" Y it does one pass & then ends (my original problem). But if I tell it 12" X by 20" Y then it works as expected. I also tried changing the bit dia. to 1", but that didn't make any difference. So I still don't know what the problem is, but at least I get to see it working.

Similar Threads

  1. 3D Z plunge?
    By angelosart in forum ShopBot Buddy
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-26-2013, 01:06 PM
  2. About to that the Plunge
    By crash5050 in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-19-2012, 03:23 PM
  3. Plunge cut into MDO
    By cartar929 in forum Sign Making
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-02-2009, 02:43 PM
  4. Well I took the plunge
    By menewfy in forum Archives2007
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-15-2007, 10:30 AM
  5. Z won't plunge into surface
    By wesday in forum Archives2005
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-26-2005, 07:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •