Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Internet on SB Control PC?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Creative 3D WoodArt, Dongola IL
    Posts
    129

    Default Internet on SB Control PC?

    I am planning to try using the SB App for Ipod touch. This will require me to include my PC in my network.

    Are there issues with allowing this PC to access the internet? I'm operating a network behind a web proxy so there is some added protection...I suppose I could put incorrect proxy settings in IE options to keep the computer from going online, but still have local network access?

    I know that if it's online it should have virus protection - I usually use the free MS security essentials.

    Thoughts, comments? How are you all doing it?

    Gerald

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,672

    Default

    Gerald,

    You don't need to have it online or on your network. Just hook up a wireless router to it and make your own wireless 'ShopBot Remote' network that doesn't have internet access.

    If you have to access a wireless network that is further away and where the iPod Touch has to take a round about route, you can end up with some lag in operation. Best to keep things close and closed.

    I'm kind of swamped at the moment, but if you need some help, let me know.
    Scott

    If guns kill people, I guess pencils misspell words, cars drive drunk and spoons make people fat.

    "Those who hammer their guns into plows, will plow for those who do not" - Thomas Jefferson




  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Creative 3D WoodArt, Dongola IL
    Posts
    129

    Default

    I'm leaning toward including the Bot computer in my network with internet access. Apparently Shopbot figures some will, since you can upload files for tech support right from the software.

    Hopefully nothing evil comes of it...

    Gerald

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pope Valley CA
    Posts
    688

    Default

    I've always had my shop computer on my wireless network, connected to the internet. I've had no problems with the setup, but I also made sure that I'm not running background tasks, like MS update, scheduled AV scans, etc. I just run those manually, periodically. I also use MS Security Essentials - seems to be the least intrusive and uses fewer resources...

    Since I design in my office, it sure makes it easy to sync my files to the shop computer.
    Ron Sloan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Creative 3D WoodArt, Dongola IL
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Yes, I agree it's hard to beat ethernet for file syncing. I mapped a network drive on the remote computer so I can drop cutting files right onto it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    453

    Default

    All 3 of our machines are networked. We actually pull the files of a network drive.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    iBILD Solutions - Southern NJ
    Posts
    7,932

    Default

    Networking your shop PC is fine as long as you maintain it & don't "fall asleep at the wheel" when you download updates etc. Java for instance will install the Ask Toolbar if you blow through the defaults...and what a piece of junk that thing is. If you are vigilant, and can minimize the background nonsense, you should be fine. It sure beats a sneaker network a la thumb drive.

    -B
    High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced ShopBot CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Creative 3D WoodArt, Dongola IL
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Just got the Ipod touch set up with the Shopbot Remote app. That's amazing and practical, both. Scott, great idea there that I'm sure many are using in their shops.

    Gerald

Similar Threads

  1. Internet in the shop solution
    By harryball in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-18-2015, 08:34 AM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-17-2015, 12:04 AM
  3. Control directions for the new control software?
    By gundog in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2014, 07:45 PM
  4. Selling on the Internet
    By cabindoors in forum ShopBot Businesses
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-14-2010, 06:52 PM
  5. Shopbot control software without a control panel
    By eklug in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-10-2008, 10:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •