Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Android app available now to control ShopBot

Default Android app available now to control ShopBot

Hi Folks,

Please pardon my blatant self-promotion. From reading the forums I know some of you have wanted an Androd-based program to control the ShopBot.

As a professional programmer I decided to take up the challenge so that I can control my ShopBot Desktop with my Nexus 7 and hopefully produce something useful for you.

Like other apps of this sort it requires a separate server process to be installed on the computer to which the ShopBot is connected so that the mobile device can commmunicate with the ShopBot 3 control software. It also requires a wireless connection to allow the device to see your network. Once you register your device with the server process you can control your ShopBot happily from a distance.

I've tested it with both 3.6.x and 3.8.x version of ShopBot 3 without a problem.

If you have any problems please let me know. Although I've developed software for decades, things that run on mobile devices pose additional challenges. With your help I'd like to make this more than just a handy tool. So if there are additional features you would like to see please let me know.

You can find out more about it and download the server process here:
    http://www.coogara.com/shopbot.aspx

The Android app is here:
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ting.ShopBotIC

A free limited Android version is here:
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....ShopBotICFree

A version for Apple devices has been submitted to them. Apple take about two weeks to approve apps for their stores whereas the Android folk release them immeditately.

Drop me a line if you have any problems setting up. On my site go to the Contact page and drop me a line. I'll get things fixed as quickly as I can.

Cheers

Graeme
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Coogara; 03-28-2013 at 12:10 AM. Reason: Added link to free version