Thread: BT48 Buddy vs PRSalpha 48x48

Default BT48 Buddy vs PRSalpha 48x48

I will be attending the 2-day training session at Shopbot headquarters on May 3-4 and want to finalize my order for my first Shopbot on that weekend. I have narrowed down my selection to the Buddy BT48 alpha package with spindle OR the PRSalpha 48x48 with spindle also. I only have room for the 48x48 so won't be getting the largest powerstick nor a larger fixed table PRS. I was leaning towards the mobility of the Buddy but likely will not be moving it around based on my design of the work room. The Buddy comes mostly assembled and that seems to be the biggest plus for me, i.e. less hassle than assembling the PRSalpha. But does the fixed table and moving gantry offer advantages over the moving table of the Buddy that would make the challenge of assemble worth it form me. I am a real novice to CNC having only a Carvewright for my experience. I plan only hobbyist activities making things in the order of the monthly free projects from Vectric (plan to order Aspire 4), small furniture for grandkids, and projects to donate to non-profits for their silent auctions and plaques for my hospital and schools. I have no interest in making signs but likely will end up trying one or two for friends (not for sale). Can you Buddy and PRS owners share your thoughts on what I should consider as I make my list of pros and cons aiming at a purchase of one of these two Shopbots. Thanks in advance from a soon to be Shopbot owner.

I prefer a 4x4 over a BT48, and have owned them both. The 4x4 remains