Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: If you run 3.8.4 please read

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    , Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    92

    Default

    I have 3.8.4 running on my HP ZD7000A laptop. I has a Pentium R(4) @ 3.06 GHz and 2 gb of ram. I do have an external usb hub and my control card is v201.

    This laptop is over 10 years old. Last week I ran a 3D carving that had just short of one million lines of code. It was a challenge for the "old guy" but between roughing and finishing passes the total run time was about nine hours.

    There were two issues that came up. The first was in the roughing cut when after about 50,000 lines and reversing direction on a raster cut the machine failed to come out of it's ramp. After several passes I paused the machine and issued a minor feed speed change and after resuming the file finished without further incident.

    The second "hiccup" was after about two hours into the finishing pass the exact opposite happened. The machine failed to ramp when approaching reversal of a raster pass. That one gets your attention when she's moving at 4 ips. Again I paused the machine and issued a minor feed speed change and the file finished with flawless results.

    Both discoveries were reported and the roughing toolpath was sent to support.

    As a side note, I've had no problems driving the Bot with my iPhone and 3.8.4.

    Bill

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Jar-Din Woodworks, Keithville Louisiana
    Posts
    53

    Default processor

    I gave up on it also..I am running AMD phenom 9750 Quad Core 2.4 GHz

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Jar-Din Woodworks, Keithville Louisiana
    Posts
    53

    Default AMD Processor

    I think with the AMD processor you will need to run at least 3GHz..my benchmark was 2907 and I can't run the software..Just about everyone I see that is running AMD are running 2.7 and 3 GHz and having no problem with 3.8.4....just sayin.... maybe wrong on that but whatever....

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Great idea Dave! Anyone know if it is possible to run a Shopbot on a Raspberry Pi?
    Inexpensive, easy to troubleshot and can be modified to browse a network to run files. Not sure about the ram and processor though.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pope Valley CA
    Posts
    688

    Default

    The Pi runs an ARM Linux distro, and won'r run WINE, so no, I don't see that happenning...
    Ron Sloan

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,300

    Default

    at this time I am running a file from my HP netbook with 1 gig ram and an Atom processor. I have loaded 3.8.5 on it just to see what would happen. I did run that file on my normal computer running 3.8.4 and it ran very smooth. It is a long file about 4 hours to run so we will see what happens.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,300

    Default

    File ran perfect other than the stops to reload data. I was even plugging in a usb fan and unplugging it did that about 20 times as I was working on the cooler unit for my wife.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vankleek Hill, ON
    Posts
    856

    Default

    Hi Jerry,
    3.8.5? I'm still only seeing 3.8.4 on the Shopbot site. Perhaps you're a beta tester?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Hamilton NZ
    Posts
    24

    Default 3.8 upgrade

    Hi Guys ,
    I have done the upgrade , and without any "control" /or / proper understanding of the situation I have most of the problems what where here, or on another threads experienced, so I have dedicated most of the day for same troubleshooting, here are my results.

    I have replaced my initial laptop Acer 2GB Mem and CPU Intel 1.5 GHz.

    So my tests are done now with a

    Toshiba CPU Intel 2.20 GHz and 8 GB Mem

    After the "laptop" upgrade I can see no change same crashes ...


    Things done , summary to what actually really make a difference.

    1 Make sure you have a "Packet_ET" under 20 !!!

    A. DO NOT USE USB 3!!!! will not work ...
    B . In a laptop MAKE sure you DISABLE the battery control of the USB!!!!!and force the laptop to use the "High performance" for the battery.
    C. make sure you have installed correct the firmware "UI" option ...to narrow , where I am now , I have to re-do it.

    This will bust the USB to have "Packet_ET" under 20 , my case around 15 , and all the problems with the variations on speed will clear !!!!

    2 After this I have the "random" same crashes where the speed seems to slow .
    I have noticed ....my Wireless card !!! at that time was doing a "search" after networks .....her decision!!!! so I have disabled the wireless card , and that seems to cure for now !!!

    I will keep posting my experience, please post yours, we may find the final solution for all this problems.

    Thanks for all you help ;o)

    Cheers DAN

    www.cnc4unz.com

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    575

    Default

    Hi All. I tried again to run the 3.8 software without my hub and no go. Made same noises. In a private message Brady was telling me about motors, values etc and something came up that I am wondering if others that are having issues with the 3.8 have in common with me. I have a 2007 PRS standard and my motors are the ones that have a label that says 0.5" / step. Brady was telling me about this mark on the label and that it may have another marking that says 1.5 amp. Mine does not say that. But I am wondering if the motor amps is problem? Shopbot uses a 2 amp motor now. My number on my motor is A7243-9412KTG.
    I am not sure if by any chance the 1.5 or 2 amps would make difference with software. When I checked my packet to see comms I am at 13.8

Similar Threads

  1. LOOKING FOR SHOPBOTTERS please read
    By roney c in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-28-2015, 12:41 PM
  2. looking for a list of books to read
    By michael_schwartz in forum Sign Making
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-07-2010, 05:37 PM
  3. READ IMMEDIATELY!!!
    By myxpykalix in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-23-2009, 08:24 PM
  4. Prodigal Son - read before buying any other CNC
    By weslambe in forum Archives2007
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-01-2007, 06:56 PM
  5. SBEdit in read only mode...
    By harryball in forum Archives2006
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-03-2006, 12:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •