Thread: 2.5D pocket

Default 2.5D pocket

All,

I am trying to design a pocket that has a total depth of 1.5", the sides of the pocket need to have an angled wall to them. What I want is a 2.69" dia at the top and a 2.3" diameter at the bottom. basically it is a very slow conical shape that is 2.69 on top and tapering at 7.1 degrees and is then stopped at 1.5" deep ( long before it would make the point of the cone)

I am brand new to trying 2.5D or 3D... and am having heck with how the tools work for this in Aspire. I can get a cone, but not a cone with what looks like the right attributes. It actually comes to a point in 1.5" which is not helpful.

Have some of you folks done this sort of thing? have you seen a tutorial that might help?

Thanks in advance

MGM

Dang. I may have figured this out.... give me a couple hours to get some material, put this onto the machine and do some cutting!

I am not certain, by any means, that i have got it, but it LOOKS like I have a plausible plan here.

( Must have gotten overly frustrated, since I have been working this for about 3 hours now!! ANd finding all the ways that you CAN't do it!!!)
    Thanks

You can use a 2 rail sweep (just tried it out, took a few minutes).

First, draw a vertical line 1.5" long. Then, from the top and bottom, draw lines equal to the radius you want to use (in your case 1.15" on the bottom and 1.345" on the top). Then, connect the two ends of the line which gives the outer slope at the correct angle. Remove the top line - which leaves you with a "U" shape that has the vertical line - the center of the cup - and the sloped line - the outer wall.

Draw a circle 2.69" diameter, and create a point in the center of it. Using the circle, center point and the "U" shape, create a 2 rail sweep.

Now you will have to use a ball end mill, and a 3D tool path, to cut out the pocket with sloped wall, and create a second tool path with an end mill to clean out the bottom inside corner.

AJC