Thread: Router fence automation

Default Router fence automation

Rockler also teamed up with Next Wave Automation, makers of the CNC Shark, to showcase a new router-table fence system that incorporates digital technology. This fence system mounts onto any router table and enables you to move it incrementally forward and back in .001° increments. You can program in certain router processes, such as making box joints, dovetails, or dadoes, and the unit will automatically position the fence from the bit for each cut. (You must program in the bit size and zero it out to the fence before starting.) This system will sell for $599.

Well it had to happen I suppose. This could be the end for Incras positional systems as sadly they have failed to keep up with technology advances unless they get moving real quick. Shame because they are currently expanding into an even bigger warehouse. I have had some dreadfull experiences with Nextwave and would intantly without hesitation, buy one of these were it made by Shopbot.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Buddy BT48 with 6' power stick
    2.2 HSD Spindle
    Aspire 9.5
    6" ShopBot Indexer

A bit more info from Fine Woodworking

First it was CNC, then it was SawStop technology, now Rockler and Next Wave Automation (makers of the CNC Shark) hope to take computer-controlled technology to the next level with a "smart" router table fence system dubbed "Ready to Rout."

The Ready to Rout system, set to debut in late September/early October, comes standard with four apps designed to produce box joints, dado joints, halfblind dovetail joints, and a whole host of step-and-repeat operations (think flutes spanning the width of a board). Additional apps, like one for cutting through dovetails, are also in the works. Need a custom app? We hear that might be a possibility as well. The unit is set to retail for $599.