Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Mounting bot in shipping container

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Noah's Art, Ashburton Canterbury, New Zealand
    Posts
    101

    Default Mounting bot in shipping container

    Hi
    Does anyone have a shopbot installed inside a shipping container?
    If so, what are the issues of space, soundproofing, light, and is there anything I havent thought of that only becomes apparent once you have spent a day moving the thing...(!)
    Second hand 20 foot containers are easy to get, so I am thinking of getting my bot moved into one behind my shop. The combined noise of vacuum pumps and routers, and dust inside my workshop, is beginning to get to me...
    On paper it seems to be a good idea, I can foresee some difficulties moving all round the bot, specially with the X steppers sticking out the sides as they do (PRT) but Im thinking the carriage can be parked down the far end and sheets loaded from the near end.
    I am also thinking that if I move workshops, the whole thing gets moved as a unit on a container truck in one go.
    Anyone?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    7,830

    Default

    That might be a good solution as far as noise factor is concerned but I would bet that it would be like working in a oven from the heat beating down on the metal container.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Georgetown TX
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Try hanging tarps along the sides, or run a string line around the Bot (7' apart). See how many times you run into that. Imagine if it were walls.

    I am 5'9" and about 150lbs & that seems tight to me.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Noah's Art, Ashburton Canterbury, New Zealand
    Posts
    101

    Default

    You are both probably right, Its on hold until I hear from someone whos done it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Classic Marine Co., Carrollton VA
    Posts
    269

    Default

    Amy Sun with FabLabs has done something simlar. By installing a Bot in a 40' trailer. Heres the article.

    http://www.shopbottools.com/teds_report.htm

    But remeber she all of 5'2" and 100 lbs soaking wet.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    cnc routing, portland or
    Posts
    3,623

    Default

    I can see the noise but if your having dust issues you need to modify your dc setup. changing the dust boot out for a better design will help quite a bit.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    , Richmond Tx
    Posts
    1,029

    Default

    What if you moved the dust collection and vacuum pumps outside? With a good DC I don't get a lot of extra dust in the shop. The router is not that noisy by itself unless you have it screaming on high speed.

    Now you have me thinking about a small oustide shed for my DC.

    Kenneth

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Noah's Art, Ashburton Canterbury, New Zealand
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Steve I have a wide format printer in the next room that is very sensitive to dust.
    I also have a 30 hp roots blower mounted under my Bot. I usually run it at less than a quarter speed, but even then it sounds like a formula 1 car trapped inside! It is part of the structure of the bot, and I am reluctant to seperate them.
    Kenneth the router itself runs on a variac, and I run it really slowly most of the time, as you say, that element of the noise is not really an issue.
    The container looks impressive! It looks like it opens out at the side, so there is effectively a lot more room.
    I could get one like that, I suppose.

    Simon.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Toms River, New Jersey
    Posts
    2,090

    Default

    "Second hand 20 foot containers are easy to get". If that's the case, get TWO of them, and place them side by side. Then cut out the "inside" wall where the containers touch and place some aluminum flashing along the roof joint. I've done this in the past to make a shop, and since the cargo containers can easily be "customized" with regular woodworking tools, we were also able to add windows, etc. Now you'd have a shop that was 20'by 16'.....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Does anyone have a picture of these 20' containers? Sounds like an intriguing and cost effective route.

    Regards,
    Zeke

Similar Threads

  1. Shipping from Canada
    By wberminio in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2012, 04:39 PM
  2. giant cubbyhole container
    By myxpykalix in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-06-2011, 08:39 PM
  3. LinkerLog-Carrier/Container?
    By lshuck in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-14-2010, 05:30 PM
  4. What to do with the shipping crate?
    By myxpykalix in forum Archives2006
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-07-2006, 01:51 PM
  5. ZipLok Disposable Container Dust Collector
    By mayo@difsupply.com in forum Archives - thru 2002
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-30-2001, 07:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •