Thread: Plywood Settings

Default Plywood Settings

While I have had my PRTAlpha with Spindle for a while, I am just getting started learning the ins and outs of various operations. I have searched the Forum (as well as others online) and would appreciate some sage advice, peanut gallery comments,guidance, help, etc., with my current project.

I am cutting a bookcase as a gift out of pre-finished 0.75" China Birch. I have .25" compression bits on order. This will be my first use of compression bits and have the following questions:

- Full depth cutting or multiple cuts at progressively deeper settings?
    - Conventional or Climb Cutting?
    - Speed recommendations for the 2.2HP spindle
    - Compression bit or ?? for the rabbets and adjustable shelf holes?

Quality of cut is important. I know much could be done on the table saw, but I really want to use the Bot if for no other reason that to say I did

Thanks in advance.

Roy

Roy;

With a 2.2HP spindle you can cut in one pass all day long (it has more real power than a 3.5hp Porter Cable router). If you are experiencing deflection make 2 passes - the first pass as a climb cut at about 0.65" with 0.020" offset and then a conventional finishing pass at full depth.

With climb cutting you may get some fuzzies in the cut - go with conventional.

Again with the spindle you have lots of power so 4 - 6" / sec at 20K should not be a problem providing your setup is stiff enough (see above).

A compression bit is OK for rabbets providing the down cut section of the bit is in the board. If it isn't, use a mortise compression bit. Drilling with a compression bit will cause burning on the inside of the hole unless you use a peck strategy and a light bite, do not drill all the way though with a compression bit or down-cut bit unless you are planning on starting a fire.

Guy,