Thread: Can anyone do this?

Default Can anyone do this?

I am a full time farmer in western KY. I have above average computer skills and great mechanical skills. My wife is a professional designer who works with autocad daily. I have a huge shop and plenty of free time during the late fall and most of the winter. I make a great living on the farm, but I am looking for something to keep my employees busy during down time. Is this something that anyone can pick up with enough practice?

If you have computer skills along with mechanical skills you can do it. What I feel most who have failed with cnc have lacked is the computer skills to create their cad drawings and covert them to cam part files. My suggestion is to find a shopbot camp near you and attend. You can also ask here on the forum if there is anyone near you who's shop you can visitfor a day.

Jason, I agree with Ken. I imagine before long we will be looking at exotic carvings on barn doors, wonderfully carved livestock name/stall tags, 4H award plaques, and creative rural farm signs.
    Sounds like all you need is to visit a camp to finalize your next step. Good luck, you can definately do it!

I really appreciate the responses in this forum. Everyday I see people trying to put the screws to one another in one way or another. It is very refreshing to be able to ask questions in a way that is not deemed as intrusive by people in a certian business. I look foward to talking with many of you soon! Happy botting!

Jason,

I'm in Lexington, and I'd be glad to help you get started when the time comes.

-Kevin

I'd also add, have a business plan. Know WHY you need a CNC machine and the products you want to make. Research your market and know that you will be offering a viable product/service before laying out the money. Can you do it, yes! Just cover the business end and research before the cash outlay.