Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: After updating Control software to 3.8.8

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Springfield, IL
    Posts
    199

    Default After updating Control software to 3.8.8

    I can't find a file on my machine that I wood run to spread grease after maintenance. I did complete uninstalls and lost the folder with utility or code. what it did was run the Bot from base coordinates and cascaded the entire size of table X, Y, and Z. I am sure this code was something I found on forum or was provided by shopbot. Does this make sense to anyone else.

    I am using 3.8.8 and for my purposes am very happy with the latest. I have run 3d files with no problems. None more than 1.5 hours or so on finish path. my needs are satisfied and want to find this utility/code.

    thanks,
    hobbyist having too much fun

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,845

    Default

    What size table do you have? I have one I used to use on my old PRT as an exercise routine to even up wear on the rails.

    It was just a simple repeating routine like this...

    REPEAT:
    J2,0,0
    J2,96,48
    GOTO REPEAT

    Make sure the z axis is high enough, set your speed as desired, and let 'er rip for as long as you want.
    Scott




  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Springfield, IL
    Posts
    199

    Default

    Buddy 48... 2 x 4 tabletop with .5 overlap allway around... does this move the z too. looks like I would have to change parameters on one line... I try it

    thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,845

    Default

    Just change it from J2 to J3 and add the appropriate values like this...

    REPEAT:
    J3,0,0,0
    J3,96,48,8
    GOTO REPEAT
    Scott




  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Springfield, IL
    Posts
    199

    Default

    thank u... u way up there in Wisconsin... my grandparents started in iron mountain and my wife's family is long in tooth in Waupaca.... we spend lots of summers up there on chain o lakes..... good people...good fishin... good music.... good beer...

    Just tested and your routine does exactly what I want... I thought this was a canned function at one time... glad to have it back thankin very much

    Again... Thank You
    Jeff

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Springfield, IL
    Posts
    199

    Default

    Here's the code I came up with

    'Cascade
    'SHOPBOT FILE IN INCHES
    IF %(25)=1 THEN GOTO UNIT_ERROR 'check to see software is set to standard
    C#,90 'Lookup offset values
    '
    'Turning router ON
    'SO,1,1
    'PAUSE 2
    '
    '
    'Toolpath Name = Cascade

    REPEAT:
    J3,0,0,0
    J3,48,24,4
    GOTO REPEAT

    PAUSE 2
    J3,0,0,0
    'Turning router OFF
    'SO,1,0

    '
    UNIT_ERROR:
    C#,91 'Run file explaining unit error
    END

    when I stop the loop it does not fall through to J3,0,0,0
    Not big problem. I find this routine useful... not sure how to exit loop properly

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,845

    Default

    When you stop the file/loop with a click on stop, spacebar, or enter, you chose 'Quit' and the file ends there, thus not falling through.

    If you want it to run a set amount of times, you could add a counter to it and when it reaches that count, it would jog home and quit. Something like this...

    &count = 0

    REPEAT:
    J3,0,0,0
    J3,48,24,4
    &count = &count +1
    IF &count <4 THEN GOTO REPEAT

    PAUSE 2
    JH

    Or this...

    &reps = 5

    REPEAT:
    J3,0,0,0
    J3,48,24,4
    &reps = &reps -1
    IF &reps > 0 THEN GOTO REPEAT

    PAUSE 2
    JH

    Or you could have it ask you for the reps and enter the desired amount. You could get fancier and use a GOSUB QUIT and make a subroutine for QUIT: Just a few ways to skin it.

    Yup, near Chippewa Falls/EauClaire area. Been through the Waupaca area numerous times.
    Scott




Similar Threads

  1. Best Control Software Ver??
    By GlenP in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-06-2015, 06:57 AM
  2. Control directions for the new control software?
    By gundog in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2014, 07:45 PM
  3. Updating drivers for updating software
    By ttwark in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-17-2010, 04:38 AM
  4. New control software 3.6.11
    By ken_rychlik in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 12:27 AM
  5. Shopbot control software without a control panel
    By eklug in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-10-2008, 10:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •