Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What is the piece you are "PROUDEST" of?

Default What is the piece you are "PROUDEST" of?

Think I asked this before when I was a TOTAL newbie. But what piece that you have ever done that made you feel the best, that you were proudest of at that stage of your skill? I just took a hand tooled piece off the wall I did 14 years ago and noticed the oil had turned white since I last rubbed it(it was 14' up and I'm in a wheelchair so I have an excuse"I'm not good with ladders")
    I was looking at all the things I did by hand, compared to a 1 day project that turned out nice and I could not carve in ten years and compared the two.
    Not sure which I prefer. One took 3 weeks plus and the other a day (finishing not included Joe C.) With two pieces in my hand tonight, wondering if making several hundred of something is worth the pride of one of kinds that most people will never see. What's the best you have ever done from YOUR viewpoint?
    I like what I've done but worried about my values and satisfaction vs. SALES.
    At this point I do NOT have to do this, but having second thoughts about pursuing batch production even if it helps kids but takes over my life. Selfish I know.
    What's your best piece in your estimation, and keeps you going? Will post pics of the two pieces that got me going in the morning with Natural light, so apples are apples. Rambling, very long day. scott
    scott P.
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 11.5**
    Maine

This piece was done for the grandson of a Lakota Elder on the Rosebud reservation. I remember his face and the face of his grandparents when he received it. The original image was purchased but I did a lot of editing including removing an element I didn't care for. The glazing was done very carefully to keep the contrast crisp. I can see every flaw in it, but it is still my favorite.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    - Randall Newcomb
    10 fingers in, 10 fingers out