Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Running out of time…

Hybrid View

Default Running out of time…

I’m making these mirror frames for my son’s new home… I was about to have the mirrors installed when I decided that one more coat would be good… Wrong!

This is a Rust-oleum rattle can finish. I couldn’t get that nice a crinkle finish if I was trying!

My question for our resident finishing experts is… Is there a quick fix?

SG
    Attached Images Attached Images

No quick fix here. I had this happen once to me with the crystal lac finish. Talked to tech support and have been waiting 4 years for an answer Only thing I can figure is that the time between coats maybe a little too long. The only thing I can suggest is sanding.

Bob

I'm NO finishing expert by ANY stretch...BUT - I've screw up enough things to offer the following 2 choices:

1) Roll with it. Get a sponge & some latex & put MORE texture on there. ScupltNouveau gold et al would look fine.

2) Cook it good with the heat gun, let it cool & scotch pad the cooties off of it & re-finish.

-B
    High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced ShopBot CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com

One crinkled one didn’t… only difference was that I had lightly sanded the one that crinkled.

Brady… I seriously considered the textured route but that isn’t what my daughter-in-law wanted.

Sanding…
    SG

, Friday Harbor, San Juan Islands Washington