Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Electrical feed to machine

Default Electrical feed to machine

Total newbie here. I just purchased a Standard and have a basic question about getting power to the machine. Seems like it should be coming from overhead? I'm just trying to get an idea of what this all looks like. Thanks in advance!

I have a buddy PRStandard 48.
    I ran a dedicated circuit for it, 120v, overhead and feed the machine with a 12 gauge cord reel from Grizzly.
    You might want to call Dianne at Shopbot and ask about the power requirements for the machine you ordered. Different models require different inputs.
    Guys have reported all kinds of goofy power issues, so very much consider the dedicated circuit(s) and make sure you have excellent grounding.

Do you have a spindle or just a router. Is your what control box do you have. On mine I bring the power in on long side that has the E chain that is against the wall.

I'll be running a 4hp 3ph spindle and the machine won't be against a wall. The cord reel sounds right. I guess what I am asking is does the power come in to something that moves, therefore the cord reel idea sounds good in order to manage the slack? Just thinking this through here, does the power come in to the control box first then go to the motor?

There is documentation available for your Standard via ShopBot Support Documentation

Here is some documentation for Hooking up your PRS Standard Tool - It mainly covers low volt stuff. Pertinent documentation for your electrician will be in the control box when your tool arrives at your shop, but this should give you some idea. Depending on code in your state, you are going to run either flex or conduit from the control box, under the tool to the back of the tool & over to your disconnect switch on the wall. The VFD will get mounted on the center from leg & has it's own whip that gets tied into the control box only a few feet away - pretty simple.