Thread: guitar help wanted

Hybrid View

Default guitar help wanted

I want to build a guitar, My niece was recently taken from us in a horrible accident, among many things she was an avid musician. While I will probably never know the full impact she made in her short time on this earth.
    I have no experience with musical instruments, nor I am musically inclined in any way but it was her way of life to challenge herself and do thing no-one (sometimes even herself) thought she could do.
    I have watched some video's on the process of building both electric and acoustic guitars, while the acoustic was more her style the crafting is definitely an art and form and functionality definitely go hand in hand while an electric guitar can be ugly and still sound decent so I've decided to go that route.
    I have some white oak that I salvaged and have been waiting for it to tell me what is wants to be.
    I have seen several post of guitars that have been built and was hoping some of you guys could help me out with guidance, tips, tutorials, sources for parts, or anything I might not even know i need to know.
    The guitar will ultimately end up on display but close mutual friend would like If it could at least make it through on song.
    Thanks in advance for any help.
    "The most valuable tool I have is the experience of others" - Me

okay i finish reading some of these articles, i realize that with my limited knowledge and musical know how it would work out best if I made the body (this is the part i really want to customize anyhow) and Use a premade neck.
    As for the other parts my head is spinning a bit right now.
    Again I hope one on you guys doesn't mind helping me out... I have a limited budget and this is not a for-profit project so i need to go on the low-end of things, a parts list would be really helpful or even better if one of you guys wanted to sell me a kit of sorts that would be awesome.