Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New Business Idea...HELP!!!

i-ROUT LLC DIMENSIONAL CNC ROUTING, Williamstown New Jersey

Default New Business Idea...HELP!!!

Hey guys...I have 13 years with CNC plasma/oxyfuel cutting systems. I'm looking to buy a shopbot and start my own business. My current day job, I'm a manufacturing engineer. Long term thats not for me...I kinda like drawing / cutting stuff. What kind of learning curve do you think I will have cutting wood for the first time..and how much success with the business for start up's do you see..home based.

I wanna start out with household 3d signs / pictures, custom tables, help out local contractors, woodworking shops, sign makers.

I look forward to your responses.

Hi Nick!

Considering the above, I'd say cutting force and hold down. You sound familiar with computers and CNC machines so you'll have a soft start.
    Plasma and oxyfuel does not push on the material but a tool bit is a different game... The rule to get a good cut with thermal process with metals are quite different than the milling action of a router bit on woods, plastics, foams, composites and so on.
    The process you mentioned involve 2D only while the CNC router can "carve" 3D (or 2-1/2D if you prefer); get familiar with the milling/routing CAM software in advance if you can.

Looking forward to see you around!

Hi Paco...

Thanks so much...good to know. For software...I will be using the PW coming from shopbot but also...I would like V carve, cut3d and photo carve...the whole package...what are you thoughts??

Also I've been reading the onsrud guide for cutting speeds, depths and so on....can you recommend anything else...

Thanks and talk to you soon.

Hi Nick,

June 19th of this year marked my one year in the shop full time. I have not looked back and wondered how it would have if I stayed at the "job".