Thread: Another new shop bot user with a programing question

Default Another new shop bot user with a programing question

Hello everyone. I am completely new at this. I have been messing around with basic movements of my shop bot. I cut a small circle. A few squares. Zeroed the machine a couple of times as well as sending the machine head back to home at a safe height etc.

I purchased Cabinet Vision Software ultimate with the screen to machine. In order to link my shop bot to the Cabinet vision, I need to provide the Cabinet vision integration people with a string of code for the following part.

sample code.pdf

This might be easy for someone who knows how these machines work, but for me it is overwhelming at this point.

The other thing I am struggling with is figuring out how to tell the machine that I am using a 5mm bit (compression bit) to cut my parts.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Take care
    Jim

I'd draw the part and toolpath it in PartWorks using a 5mm tool for each toolpath. A profile outside cut around the part, the circle and rectangle cut inside/outside/on shouldn't matter, and then a drilling routine for the 5mm holes (since they're only 0.25 deep, no need for a peck drill setting, but might be needed at some time). I think what they are mainly looking for is code format/structure.
    Scott

I'm assuming you don't have a automatic tool changer, in which case you don't need to tell the shopbot which tool you are using - you'll set that in your CAM software - partworks or cabinet vision.

Here are the files I think you need: The .sbp file is the one they are looking for, but all files are included so you can open them in partworks and learn.