Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Jog speed in PhotoVCarve

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Queen Creek, AZ
    Posts
    5

    Default Jog speed in PhotoVCarve

    Iím cutting a large litho in Photo v Carve (4 panels 30 x 96Ē each).
    The graphic is coral so there are allot of islands that the cutter skips over.
    Photo V Carve doesnít go into jog speed over these uncut sections (all M3 moves)

    Can I modify my post p to get the jog speed to work? Hoping to reduce my 30 hour per panel cut time to maybe 15

    Scott

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Queen Creek, AZ
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Iíve checked the post p. on both Photo V and V Carve Pro. The have the same ďRAPID_MOVEĒ line in the program move section.

    I also tried to import the PVC file into V Carve Pro but canít change the moves to jogs.

    Scott

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,653

    Default

    Scott,

    I don't believe you'll be able to change that in the PP as the program sees those areas as part of the whole image. I'm assuming those areas are white or with no detail and the program is assigning them with a zero value for the Z axis. You could bump up your move speed for XY and Z. I'd tweak the ramp settings too so that it slows down less in areas where all three axes are working together. Take a look at Brady's primer on VR for further info on that. In particular the part for 3D files.

    Aside from that, I suppose you could open the file in an editor and search for any lines that have ,0.0000 at the end and change them to J3's, but the file would be done cutting by the the time you got that done! You'd likely have a lot of short quick jogs that would introduce resonance/jiggle that could transfer to your cut also.
    Scott

    If guns kill people, I guess pencils misspell words, cars drive drunk and spoons make people fat.

    "Those who hammer their guns into plows, will plow for those who do not" - Thomas Jefferson




  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Queen Creek, AZ
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Those areas are set to "transparent". The Z moves to .20

    Scott

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Queen Creek, AZ
    Posts
    5

    Default

    More info:
    I looked at the SBP code, it looks like the very short segments (under 0.06) at 0.20 above the material use the J3 command, any longer segments use the M3 command.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,653

    Default

    If you load the cut in SB3 in preview mode and without choosing a tool and previewing it, zoom in on the toolpath lines and you'll see that the only jog moves are the ones in red and are from the end of one line to the beginning of the next line. All other paths no matter if they are above or in the material are considered cut speed paths. It's just that the program considers them as part of the image, within the perimeter. Take for example the attached jpg, as the toolpath travels diagonally over the image, it still is generated as M3's, where you would think it would/could be a jog until it gets to the other side. Just a limitation of the program. If they considered all above the material paths as jogs, you could end up with a pretty jiggy file depending on the image.

    If you set a little faster move/cut speed, match the Z axis closer to the XY, and make your rapid gap as tight as you dare, you'll shave off some time. Custom ramp settings can help with the flow too.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Scott

    If guns kill people, I guess pencils misspell words, cars drive drunk and spoons make people fat.

    "Those who hammer their guns into plows, will plow for those who do not" - Thomas Jefferson




  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Queen Creek, AZ
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Scott W.:
    You nailed it! If the transparent section isnít connected to the edge itís a move command in Photo VC. Itís a drag, but itís true.

    Thanks for the Brady link. I might be able to gain a little time, not as much as I hoped, but a little.

    I canít justify the $ on this project but for future reference will Aspire go into J3 mode over the center islands?

    Scott S.

Similar Threads

  1. vcarvepro and photovcarve?
    By eugene in forum VCarvePro and PhotoVCarve
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-29-2012, 11:48 AM
  2. PhotoVCarve and Aspire
    By khaos in forum Aspire
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-07-2012, 05:16 PM
  3. PhotoVcarve Vectric Question
    By drodda in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 07:43 PM
  4. Air passes in photovcarve
    By jerry_stanek in forum VCarvePro and PhotoVCarve
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-02-2009, 09:54 AM
  5. PhotoVCarve question
    By denver in forum Archives2007
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 04-14-2007, 07:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •