Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Is the total depth of cut limited by flute length?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    50

    Default Is the total depth of cut limited by flute length?

    I probably should know this by now and have searched the forum for an answer unsuccessfully, but does flute length limit how deep I can cut with a particular bit? For example, I am working on a project cutting 2' x 4' victorian corbels out of edge glued 1 3/4" Douglas fir. In order to keep the inside corners tight, I'd like to use a 1/4" diameter up spiral but am not finding any available that have a flute length 1 3/4" long. Is it possible to use a bit that has a 1" or 1 1/4" flute length to cut through the Fir?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads, VA
    Posts
    1,106

    Default

    This is the actual cutting part of the tool. below the shank. C is flute length

    "Once a person moves away from the computer and CNC some of the most important work begins." ~Joe Crumley

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Hi Joe, I understand which part of the bit is the flute. My question is whether or not I can cut deeper (using multiple . 25 inch passes) to achieve a total depth that exceeds the bits flute length.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    San Jose del Cabo based since 1997
    Posts
    1,241

    Default

    yes you can as long as flute diameter is same as shank diameter...
    Vector Studio 22

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    iBILD Solutions - Southern NJ
    Posts
    7,907

    Default

    Oberg Brothers has what you want. They are Super Extra Long 1/4" - 2 Flute End Mill - 2" LOC - 4" OAL. Part Number: SL20014 - Call and order a few.

    -B
    High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced ShopBot CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    966

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ron_churches View Post
    .....whether or not I can cut deeper (using multiple . 25 inch passes) to achieve a total depth that exceeds the bits flute length.
    I think it is a yes and no answer. If you just cut vertical (e.g. boundary slot cutout) you can go moderately deeper than the flute unless the slot starts clogging. But obviously you can not cut horizontal or burn the wood with the rubbing shank.

    A longer bit like Brady suggests is the better choice. HTC also makes some long, extra long and extra extra long cutters for reasonable money (Made in US).
    Box Joint, Dovetail, Guilloche and MazeMaker Software Here

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Houghton Lake MI
    Posts
    163

    Default

    Ron I have some odd shaped box's I make and cut them out with the sb . The box is 2 1/2" tall and cut them out with a 3" up spiral bit with no problems ever. But I do use a blow gun once the cut reach's 50%

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    WoodTech World, Vancouver Washington
    Posts
    89

    Default

    I agree with Gene. As long as the tool path is the same horizontally all the way down in the cut.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    775

    Default

    Yes I do it all the time don't have an issue at all. As said shank diameter must be less than cutter diameter though thats obvious.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    543

    Default

    Yes, I do it all the time, as well.
    I like a shorter CEL, unless the bits are tapered. Seems like they're quieter.

Similar Threads

  1. Is it okay to cut deeper than the flute length of the bit?
    By hipstomp in forum Techniques for Cutting, Drilling, Machining
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-04-2015, 01:41 AM
  2. Total Rookie w/ woodworking needs assist
    By JackM in forum ShopBot Desktop
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-23-2013, 09:14 PM
  3. Total novices need help on tutorials please!
    By Bob Eustace in forum ShopBot Buddy
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-19-2011, 08:10 PM
  4. What file keeps track of total run time on the shopbot computer?
    By knight_toolworks in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-18-2008, 11:19 AM
  5. Limited DOS Memory
    By waynec in forum Archives thru2004
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-07-2004, 12:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •