Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Trouble turning spindle on

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    1

    Default Trouble turning spindle on

    I write my Gcode using makercam which outputs a .nc file type. When I try to get this file to cut on the shopbot, it will go through all of the motions, but without turning the spindle on. I tried the Gcode converter within the shopbot software and ran into the same issue.

    Could anyone help me figure out what I need to add at the beginning of my files to get the spindle to turn on before attempting to cut?

    I have attached my example .sbp file for reference. Units are mm and spindle speed should be 14000.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pope Valley CA
    Posts
    685

    Default

    Try a comma after the SO command, as in SO,1,1
    Ron Sloan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,634

    Default

    Chris,

    In your gcode, you can use M3/M5, but you must have line numbers in front of it, like N10, N20, N30.....

    For your SB code, your line should read as follow...SO,1,1...you missed a (,) after the SO (at least here in your example). A PAUSE 3 after wouldn't hurt too to bring it up to speed. You can also manually add that to gcode to get the pause.

    (Ron finished typing before I did)
    Scott

    If guns kill people, I guess pencils misspell words, cars drive drunk and spoons make people fat.

    "Those who hammer their guns into plows, will plow for those who do not" - Thomas Jefferson




  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Healdsburg CA
    Posts
    18

    Default Are the C6 and C7 commands a viable alternative to SO,1,1 and SO,1,0?

    Quote Originally Posted by ssflyer View Post
    Try a comma after the SO command, as in SO,1,1
    I've been trying to get some G-Code from Fusion 360 to work and I see elsewhere in this forum that inserting the SO,1,1 seems to remedy the issue with a dead spindle. However, when I review previous successful toolpaths that I generated with VCarve I see that the C6 and C7 command were used instead to start and end the spindle routine. Is there a good reason for this distinction?

    Any help is greatly appreciated.

Similar Threads

  1. Turning off spindle before changing bits?
    By mmak2916 in forum ShopBot Desktop
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-15-2015, 02:34 PM
  2. Is the worm turning?
    By bleeth in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-28-2013, 01:05 PM
  3. Spindle Not Turning On (3.6.1)
    By nat_wheatley in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-29-2009, 04:41 PM
  4. Turning blanks
    By cmagro in forum Indexer
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-02-2009, 08:33 AM
  5. Turning off a standard & spindle when file ends
    By dubliner in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-12-2008, 10:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •