Thread: Cutting Hard Maple with Onsrud 57-910

Default Cutting Hard Maple with Onsrud 57-910

I am a newbie with regard to the ShopBot. I purchased a Desktop with a spindle in July of this year and spend a significant amount of time cutting a spoilboard that has dowel holes, threaded inserts, wedges and fences thanks to the help Scott Plaisted and others on this forum.

I am now trying to cut one of the sample projects from the Vectric forum. It is the Mother's Keep Sakes project that is a VCarved box. I'm making it out of hard maple for my Mother's 80th birthday.

I cut the lid and the VCarving went well, however the profile cut using an Onsrud 57-910 down spiral end mil, that I got with the ShopBot starter set, left a very scalloped cut on the edges.

I decide to create some test cuts with that cutter to find the best speeds and feeds. According to Onsrud the chip load for that bit and hard wood should be .005 to 007. I created some test cuts in that range in hard maple and hoped that I would find a speed and feed that were acceptable. Unfortunately after making twelve test cuts I can't say that any of them are very good. I'm pretty frustrated!

I'll attach the VCarve file that has my tests. They are labeled 1 Test 57-910 1.7 .5 10K, 2 Test 57-910 1.9 .5 11K, etc. The numbers represent feed rate in IPS, plunge rate in IPS, and speed in RPMs. I'm using a cut depth of 1/2 of the cutter diameter which is .125.

I would really appreciate any help that I can get.

Thanks,
    Steve
    Attached Files Attached Files

Hi Steve,

I had to look up Eastvale, even though I've been through a lot of times!

Looks like you are off to a good start, if you mic'd the bit as it shows as a 0.248".