Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Union of Layers?

Question Union of Layers?

Hi all-

I'm new to VCarvePro (and ShopBot too) and am trying to design something that is made up of layers, where the top layer sits on top of the bottom layer, with both at different depths. So if I have a pattern on the bottom layer, I'd like to have text on the upper layer.

The problem is that I can't figure out how to tell the program to remove the bottom layer, ignoring the intersection of the two. I end up with either this (top-down) or this, bottom-up.

I'm guessing the secret lies somewhere in union-ing the two layers, preserving their specific cuts and depths, somehow, but can't seem to find it in the program.

Thanks for any info!

Ron (tachoknight)

Both the pictures look the same.

Can't quite follow what is you're trying to do but look at start depths on the toolpaths to start cutting at a pre-cut level.
    The answers to a lot of questions can be found at http://www.shopbottools.com/ShopBotDocs/ or http://support.vectric.com/

Ron, does this multi-layer text thread help? Like Adrian said both pictures look identical.
    http://forum.vectric.com/viewtopic.p...height#p116252
    scott P.
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 11.5**
    Maine

Toolpath one layer then turn off that layer and toolpath the other one
    Kyle Stapleton
    River Falls Renaissance Academy
    Math/Technology Education Teacher

PRS Alpha 96x60 2.2 hp spindle, Double Air drills, 6" indexer, Fein 5 zone vac table
    Desktop w/spindle
    Potter Pen
    Aspire 8.5, Creo 3.0

Default Take 2

I thought I had saved both, but apparently not and I couldn't figure out what I did to get the "other" image. Sorry, I'm still new.

I whipped this up as an example of what I'm trying to do. I have the boxes on one layer, and the cylinder on another, only because I thought that was the right way to do it.

Hope that helps in clearing up the confusion. Sorry about the duplicate images.