Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Installing plenum board

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Akron OH
    Posts
    10

    Question Installing plenum board

    Just started building a 48 x 96 PRS. Installed the deck and was going to put on the plenum and noticed that the decking is 48 x 96 and the MDF is 49 x 97. Should the MDF be cut down to 48 x 96 or does this really matter? Not sure if this is critical. Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Delray Beach, FL
    Posts
    3,708

    Default

    You need to be very sure of where your x and y zero lines are. Then have the plenum overhang them a bit (1/4-1/2 inch) and then trim them to zero with a heavy bit (3/8-1/2). This gives you registration for the future. It also allows you to check very well for square. On first go round you may want to temporarily set it with a few screws, check for square, readjust if necessary after squaring the gantry, and then put it down permanently. A little hanging over the high sides of x and y is fine, but I like to trim the plenum to an even 48 x 96 and will have the spoilboard hanging over a little. Don't forget to seal the edges when you seal the top and plenum channels. I also like to trim the deck at the zero lines.

    Welcome aboard!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Springfield Mo
    Posts
    809

    Default x axis limit

    On the near side open end, You might want the bit to overhang/ reach about 1 inch past the end of the bed.

    That way you can engrave into the edge/ end grain of a small item if you want.
    The decimal point seems to be the most important on the z axis... x & y not so much....
    ShopBot... Where even the scraps and things you mess up and throw away are cool....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Akron OH
    Posts
    10

    Question Plenum sealer

    Does the plenum board need sealed with polyurethane? I see several mentions of it in the forum but it does not mention this in the shopbot supplied directions. Is this step optional? If needed suggestions on type? Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Springfield Mo
    Posts
    809

    Default plenum board

    The plenum board should be sealed with several coats of poly after you cut the zones as desired.

    Not sure what you are using above that, but that layer would not be sealed except for around the edge, as you want air to pass through the upper surface.
    The decimal point seems to be the most important on the z axis... x & y not so much....
    ShopBot... Where even the scraps and things you mess up and throw away are cool....

Similar Threads

  1. Cutting My Plenum Board
    By crash5050 in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-10-2012, 06:45 PM
  2. Installing the Spindle Control Board
    By zeke in forum Assembly & Maintenance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 06:39 AM
  3. Plenum Board
    By wayne_webb in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-17-2008, 12:02 PM
  4. Plenum Board for Vac
    By john_l in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-06-2008, 03:47 PM
  5. Help cutting plenum board
    By jim in forum Archives2007
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-26-2007, 05:54 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •