Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Poor cut quality on solid birch wood

Default Poor cut quality on solid birch wood

I'm cutting some pieces on solid 3/4" birch wood. I've done numerous tests with the feeds/speeds and a climb/conventional cutting, however the cut quality is just not that great. There's chips and coarseness/fibrous shavings left on the side. When the bit reaches the corners, there's a screaming/screeching noise which is very high pitch and irritating.

Here are my cut settings:
    Onsrud 57-910 1/4" downcut bit
    10,000RPM
    4IPS
    7 passes at around 0.117 depth per pass
    Climb cutting

Attached are the photos of the piece. The overall size of the piece is around 1.4"x3.5".

I'm still a newbie to the CNC world, would appreciate the help. Thanks!
    Attached Images Attached Images

You are cutting way too fast for a part that size.
    Try 1ips. or slower
    Kyle Stapleton
    River Falls Renaissance Academy
    Math/Technology Education Teacher

PRS Alpha 96x60 2.2 hp spindle, Double Air drills, 6" indexer, Fein 5 zone vac table
    Desktop w/spindle
    Potter Pen
    Aspire 8.5, Creo 3.0

yeah, cutting too fast.
    Take a small sample piece of the wood. Cover the smoothest side with transfer tape. I like "Conform" brand. Squeegee it down.
    Then take some double sided adhesive tape (like banner hem tape) cover a piece of coroplast with it then squeegee it down.
    Then apply wood with application tape to the sticky side of the tape you applied to the coro. Use roller or laminator to smash the two together.

When you cut on the machine, cut through the wood by about .1

The transfer tape will hold to the sticky tape and the small letters should not move and cause chatter. the transfer tape will come right off the wood and make it easy to pull out. Also you can walk away from the machine and let it cut letters without worrying about them jumping around after the cut.

Harbor Sales sells all these products.

Dave