Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Turning off spindle before changing bits?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    41

    Default Turning off spindle before changing bits?

    For safety reasons, is it a good practice to turn off the spindle (by turning the key) before changing bits in between cuts? I'm paranoid that the spindle will accidentally start when I'm changing bits

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    iBILD Solutions - Southern NJ
    Posts
    7,952

    Default

    Yes. This is why the key is tethered to one of the wrenches.

    -B
    High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced ShopBot CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    41

    Default

    They forgot to include the spindle key with my Desktop so the key was shipped separately. Do you have a photo of how the key looks tethered to the wrench? Did it come this way with all the Desktop models? I suppose I'll tether it myself...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    4,100

    Default

    Here you go M.
    May have changed slightly as this is the first one Gordon Fabbed(Kirk got second and got a flat key like yours).
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Scott Plaisted
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 9
    Maine

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Ahhh, got it! Thanks Scott for the photo

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Davenport Iowa
    Posts
    174

    Default

    I have a PRS Alpha that did not come with a key. Is there an upgrade?
    I would add it
    Life is like a project you continue to work on until it's finished.
    Never start a project you don't intend to finish!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    4,100

    Default

    Ken, When I initially asked about it(and then they fabbed it FOR FREE-Way to go Shopbot ) ,it was because I'd seen that some of the bigger machines had it and I thought it was a great feature for what we thought at the time would be the work environment.
    I thought all the newer ones came with it.
    Rereading, i see that Russ and John mentioned it was on "Newer", so not sure when it became a"standard feature".
    http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/sho...ndle+interlock
    Call Shopbot?
    scott
    Scott Plaisted
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 9
    Maine

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    1,271

    Default

    Mines a 2009 and it came with the key interlock.
    The answers to a lot of questions can be found at http://www.shopbottools.com/ShopBotDocs/ or http://support.vectric.com/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pope Valley CA
    Posts
    689

    Default

    Ordered my PRSAlpha in 12/08 - no key interlock, but also no problems.
    Ron Sloan

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    San Jose del Cabo based since 1997
    Posts
    1,242

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bradywatson View Post
    Yes. This is why the key is tethered to one of the wrenches.

    -B
    curious to ask, why is there the need to cut power to spindle during a bit change? What would cause spindle to start alone other than a software glitch?
    Vector Studio 22

Similar Threads

  1. Trouble turning spindle on
    By cjorgensenmd in forum Designing and Creating the sbp cutting file
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-08-2017, 01:36 PM
  2. Changing bits = loosing zero
    By signtist in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-08-2012, 02:23 PM
  3. changing bits
    By moojo in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-11-2010, 11:16 AM
  4. Spindle Not Turning On (3.6.1)
    By nat_wheatley in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-29-2009, 04:41 PM
  5. Changing bits
    By pross in forum Archives2007
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-12-2007, 10:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •