Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Sign Guy trying to cut Cabinet Doors

Default Sign Guy trying to cut Cabinet Doors

One of my Sign customers walked in today and asked me if I could cut out 8 Cabinet doors out of material he will supply, in one piece with the profiles close to the attached pics.

I have a cutter with something close to the pic of the outside edge.
    The inside profiles look like router bits #37743 from rockler.com
    http://www.rockler.com/freud-97-150-3-piece-door-set

Can these bits be purchased in something I can ramp into the material without the bearing?

Should I just consider setting up a 3D toolpath for the inside detail?

Does anyone already have this 3D profile setup in Aspire for a price? I am new to Aspire and still haven't spent enough time on tutorials yet. I told the customer I could do it and to bring the material.....LOL

Any advise would be appreciated.

Dave
    Attached Images Attached Images

Before you hurt yourself that is a 5 piece door .There meant for a shaper or rotter table

There is free doors using mdf sheets take a look

My 2 cents stay away it a whole new trade huge learning curve

Thanks Kevin,
    I know I am crossing boundaries here and don't know what the heck I'm doing, but I got a Bot and open machine time....

I think I am getting there. In the attached pic is just using endmills, 60 degree v bit, and ballnose bit using profile and pocket toolpaths. Just need to carve the interior down some to look like the sample.

Am I going about it all wrong? It doesn't have to match anything. This is a small cabinet reface job he got and wants me to start doing his CNC cutting going forward. I can catch on fast if he can supply me with enough sheet goods.

Dave

David
    Look at free door post .I used it looks the most realistic for cnc you can do it in Aspire but it gets tricky nesting

I tried there web doesn't seem to be up I think I can find you a copy there is a learning curve