Thread: Need Carving Help.

Default Need Carving Help.

I was reading over some older posts and am getting the picture that my techniques are all wet. I am new to carving as I just purchased my BT32 in March.

BT 32 Standard
    Aspire 8.0
    2.2 HP Spindle

I have made a few carvings using the Aspire clip art. Some fair and some bad. None were great like those I saw in the older posts.

I am currently trying to carve a Bass (fish) out of Walnut. It came out fuzzy.

I am using an 1/8 inch ball nose tool for finishing and a 1/4 end mill for roughing. Both are Onsrud.

Roughing at 8,000 RPM 100 IPM with a cut depth of .125. I am leaving .020 to finish. I am using 10% step over. That seems a bit small.

Finishing at 7,000 RPM with equal feed and plunge of 80 IPM.
    I am using a raster feed direction. I am using 7% step over.

I finished it across the grain. That appears to be a mistake.

I am getting a lot of fuzz.

Here are some of the tips I saw.
    Use a round nose bit to rough. I have a 3/8 and 1/2 inch round nose bits.
    Use a 1/16 finishing bit (I have one).
    Use higher speed rates.
    Finish in the direction of the grain.

I just don't know where to start.

I also wonder what the best woods are to carve.

All advise will be greatly appreciated.

Here is a picture.

Bass Carving.jpg

Crank that RPM up. It's a router and not a milling machine. Slow your speeds down. Read my VR article in the web columns area on the main SB site for speed recommendations.

Run 12-15k for roughing with 2-flute upcut.
    Run 15-18k for finishing with 2-flute ball.

The tool will never go 4"/sec on that little fish. It will be ramping while cutting and will kill your cut quality because the tool will not move as smoothly as it should. 3D finish machine that at 2,1 inches per sec at 15k to 18k and see how it turns out....

Rough @ 40% stepover. Set it in the tool DB and leave it for ALL 2D operations, unless doing very dense material like aluminum.