Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Trying to loop a tool path

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Ann Arbor , MI
    Posts
    3

    Default Trying to loop a tool path

    I've been running a pretty ordinary file and using the FP command to reload it self and loop till I tell it to quit. I am randomly getting a error at the point/line the file trys to reload the machine stops and throws a missing com error. At this point the shopbot software quits and I need to rezero all three axis. Any body have an idea why this is happening?

    I've included the run file so you can see what I am doing.

    Any suggestions will be appreciated.

    cheers
    al

    Run File

    '----------------------------------------------------------------
    'SHOPBOT ROUTER FILE IN INCHES
    'GENERATED BY PARTWorks
    'Minimum extent in X = 0.000 Minimum extent in Y = 0.000 Minimum extent in Z = 0.000
    'Maximum extent in X = 36.000 Maximum extent in Y = 6.000 Maximum extent in Z = 1.500
    'Length of material in X = 36.000
    'Length of material in Y = 6.000
    'Depth of material in Z = 1.500
    'Home Position Information = Bottom Left Corner, Table Surface (move to 2.5" offset from default 0,0)
    'Home X = 0.000000 Home Y = 0.000000 Home Z = 2.5
    'Rapid clearance gap or Safe Z = 2.000
    'UNITS:Inches
    '
    IF %(25)=1 THEN GOTO UNIT_ERROR 'check to see software is set to standard
    SA 'Set program to absolute coordinate mode
    CN, 90
    'New Path
    'Toolpath Name = Drill for inserts (5-32 mill)
    'Tool Name = 5/32" Up-cut (13729)
    &PWSafeZ = 2.000
    &PWZorigin = Table Surface
    &PWMaterial = 1.500
    '&ToolName = "5/23" Up-cut (13729)"
    &Tool =5 'Tool number to change to
    SO,1,1 'Turning router ON
    'Go? (&ToolName)
    Pause
    '
    MS,1.5,1.0
    JZ,2.5
    J3,3.249947,0.812577,2.000000
    J3,3.249947,0.812577,1.700000
    M3,3.249947,0.812577,1.500000
    M3,3.250073,0.815385,1.498210
    M3,3.250468,0.818263,1.496359
    M3,3.251153,0.821175,1.494454
    ----Snip----
    J3,0.046900,1.415996,2.500000
    C7 'Turning router OFF
    JZ,2.50000
    J3,0.000000,-2.000000,2.500000 'Move router out of way
    '
    'Reload Jig, Click OK to continue.
    Pause
    J2,0.00,0.00
    FP, Machine for inserts and Trim.sbp ,,,,,2 'reloads file till user quits at previous prompt
    '
    C7 'Turning router OFF
    END
    '
    UNIT_ERROR:
    CN, 91 'Run file explaining unit error
    END

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cleveland TN
    Posts
    345

    Default

    Al,

    I would just have the file loop instead of reloading it, you would need the following:

    '----------------------------------------------------------------
    'SHOPBOT ROUTER FILE IN INCHES
    'GENERATED BY PARTWorks
    'Minimum extent in X = 0.000 Minimum extent in Y = 0.000 Minimum extent in Z = 0.000
    'Maximum extent in X = 36.000 Maximum extent in Y = 6.000 Maximum extent in Z = 1.500
    'Length of material in X = 36.000
    'Length of material in Y = 6.000
    'Depth of material in Z = 1.500
    'Home Position Information = Bottom Left Corner, Table Surface (move to 2.5" offset from default 0,0)
    'Home X = 0.000000 Home Y = 0.000000 Home Z = 2.5
    'Rapid clearance gap or Safe Z = 2.000
    'UNITS:Inches
    '
    IF %(25)=1 THEN GOTO UNIT_ERROR 'check to see software is set to standard
    SA 'Set program to absolute coordinate mode
    CN, 90
    'New Path
    'Toolpath Name = Drill for inserts (5-32 mill)
    'Tool Name = 5/32" Up-cut (13729)
    &PWSafeZ = 2.000
    &PWZorigin = Table Surface
    &PWMaterial = 1.500
    '&ToolName = "5/23" Up-cut (13729)"
    &Tool =5 'Tool number to change to
    SO,1,1 'Turning router ON
    'Go? (&ToolName)
    Pause
    '
    BEGIN:
    MS,1.5,1.0
    JZ,2.5
    J3,3.249947,0.812577,2.000000
    J3,3.249947,0.812577,1.700000
    M3,3.249947,0.812577,1.500000
    M3,3.250073,0.815385,1.498210
    M3,3.250468,0.818263,1.496359
    M3,3.251153,0.821175,1.494454
    ----Snip----
    J3,0.046900,1.415996,2.500000
    Pause
    'Hit escape if you wish to quit
    J2,0.00,0.00
    GOTO Begin


    C7 'Turning router OFF
    JZ,2.50000
    J3,0.000000,-2.000000,2.500000 'Move router out of way


    END
    '
    UNIT_ERROR:
    CN, 91 'Run file explaining unit error
    END



    Joe
    2005 PRT Alpha 48x96
    2013 Colombo 3hp spindle
    Indexer (converted lathe)
    Aspire 9.0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,665

    Default

    Al,

    That won't loop the file, but just run it one more time. The error issue may be a file location issue or possible nesting the same file within the file.

    To add to Joe's suggestion, if you are using v3.8.XX, you can use the PAUSE UNTIL method and set up a repeat button that is tied into an input. For example, I have a button that is hooked to input 1 (can use any available input) and when I'm ready to restart/loop the file, I just push a button at the gantry to repeat. Saves time by not having to go to the keyboard/mouse to answer the pause message.

    Snip from the programing handbook...

    PAUSE UNTIL works just like PAUSE (without a time) except that an Input Switch can be used as the equivalent of the OK input button. For example, programming PAUSE UNTIL 5, 1 will PAUSE until the OK button is entered or the #5 Input Switch is closed. Any message in a preceding comment line will be displayed as with the simple PAUSE instruction. Use a 0 to detect an Input Switch opening, or 1 to detect a Switch closing.
    By default, when motion is initiated after an Input Switch PAUSE, there will be a warning and short wait, just like at the beginning of a file to provide a safety interval. This can be eliminated by turning the wait off with [SW] before the call to function, then restoring it. There is a sample file in the SbParts folder (sample_for_switch.sbp) that illustrates.


    If you're using an older version, there's an alternate method of this that works well too.
    Scott

    If guns kill people, I guess pencils misspell words, cars drive drunk and spoons make people fat.

    "Those who hammer their guns into plows, will plow for those who do not" - Thomas Jefferson




Similar Threads

  1. 3D tool path
    By angelosart in forum Techniques for Cutting, Drilling, Machining
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-13-2013, 08:57 AM
  2. Tool Path
    By matney_models in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-14-2010, 11:29 PM
  3. Need help with 3d tool path
    By john_how in forum PartWorks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-12-2010, 04:39 PM
  4. 3D tool path
    By don in forum Other
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-16-2008, 01:23 AM
  5. Tool Path
    By jimmya in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-17-2008, 05:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •