Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Need a Technician to fix #@$%&*^* Shopbot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Fredericksburg, TX
    Posts
    43

    Default Need a Technician to fix #@$%&*^* Shopbot

    I am in the Texas Hill Country (Fredericksburg) about 50 miles from San Antonio and about 65 from Austin.

    I have a PRS Standard 96 x 48 X 6 with 2.2hp spindle and purchased it new in 2012, I purchased it for a sign carving business which I started about the same time. I am not a technician and need a repair person to fix whatever is wrong with the spindle not starting once I execute a "Cut" file.

    This would be a paid gig..let me know and we can talk price but I have a backlog of cutting I need to do. Feel free to respond here, email wbpatterson@prodigy.net or call 214-207-5263.

    Thanks!
    Bill Patterson
    OldGoatSigns, LLC
    Fredericksburg, Great state of TEXAS
    SB Standard 48 x 96
    2.2 hp spindle
    Since May 2012

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,305

    Default

    Give shopbot a call and they can walk you through the spindle problem

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    710

    Default

    Bill,

    I am probably 70-80 miles east of you (Austin area)... with all the rain we have had, it is possible your system got a jolt of lightning. Mine got hit about 2 years ago ( not a LITTLE jolt). It took me 2-3 calls to ShopBot to figure out all the problems- but they can walk you though it pretty easily. If I were more "savvy" I would volunteer to come out and look your system over. I am pretty fair on the stuff processes I use to cut , but I am not a wizard on the electrical stuff. It might be as simple as needing to redo your settings or reload them- or uninstall and reinstall the software ( only takes a few minutes to load it from a download off the internet.) Or it might be something that got fried in the electrical storms that rolled through with "Bill" the last few days. (Mine lost a prox sensor, a power supply (low voltage. I think it was the 5V unit) and I had to send the board in, because I fried a circuit on there somewhere.)

    At a time like this, you want an expert to walk you through a logical progression to figure the problem out. Call them and they can help you work on it.

    Best Regards,

    Monty

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Rock Hill SC
    Posts
    474

    Default

    That is really good advice. the problem could be in several places.

    The power supply for the spindle will have a wire coming from it to the control board for the shopbot. It should also have a USB connector that plugs into the computer. Your computer sends the information regarding the speed selected to the spindle supply through the USB port and then when it is time for the spindle to run the computer closes a set of points across that other wire and starts the spindle. That is simplistic but will get you started.

    There fore ---- If you set a speed and see it on the screen the USB cable to the power supply is working. If that is so the other wire is probably the culprit.

    that power supply (it is really much more than that) has quite complicated programming in it. Shopbot puts in certain settings before they ship it so that it will talk and respond to the small circuit board that they have installed in it. Your problem could be as simple as going through those settings.

    As said in the previous message you need to get Shopbot on the line. Make sure you are at the machine with a fully charged cell phone when you do!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Fredericksburg, TX
    Posts
    43

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tlempicke View Post
    That is really good advice. the problem could be in several places.

    The power supply for the spindle will have a wire coming from it to the control board for the shopbot. It should also have a USB connector that plugs into the computer. Your computer sends the information regarding the speed selected to the spindle supply through the USB port and then when it is time for the spindle to run the computer closes a set of points across that other wire and starts the spindle. That is simplistic but will get you started.

    There fore ---- If you set a speed and see it on the screen the USB cable to the power supply is working. If that is so the other wire is probably the culprit.

    that power supply (it is really much more than that) has quite complicated programming in it. Shopbot puts in certain settings before they ship it so that it will talk and respond to the small circuit board that they have installed in it. Your problem could be as simple as going through those settings.

    As said in the previous message you need to get Shopbot on the line. Make sure you are at the machine with a fully charged cell phone when you do!!
    Thank you Tom, Monty and Jerry, That was good advice...I emailed Shopbot Customer Support and what Tom at SB told me in one line fixed it right up and that was:

    "Bill,

    The tool number listed in the part file is 20. Are you using a second input? The tool numbers for one router/spindle are 1-19."

    Thanks to all!!!
    Bill Patterson
    OldGoatSigns, LLC
    Fredericksburg, Great state of TEXAS
    SB Standard 48 x 96
    2.2 hp spindle
    Since May 2012

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    710

    Default

    AWESOME! Those people ROCK!

    Kudos to Frank, Diane, Nancy... and everyone else at ShopBot! You folks make these machines a rocking opportunity to create things!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    109

    Default

    I want to thank Tom, at Shop Bot Tools, for his technical support. Even though I purchased a Shopbot off the original owner Tom graciously assisted me my questions related to the electrical hook-up of the machine.

    James

Similar Threads

  1. Technician Needed in Central Florida - WILL PAY!
    By QMI in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-18-2019, 11:09 AM
  2. Update shopbot control computer with VCarve Pro Shopbot edition
    By Greybarn in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-16-2016, 11:55 AM
  3. need technician
    By RONSIGNCO in forum Assembly & Maintenance
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-17-2014, 01:42 PM
  4. Technician in Brisbane, Australia?
    By Shane in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-02-2012, 03:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •