Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Import 3D from Sketchup - Trouble Getting Toolpath correct

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Silver City, New Mexico
    Posts
    4

    Default Import 3D from Sketchup - Trouble Getting Toolpath correct

    Hello All,

    I'm struggling with a problem and not sure where I'm going wrong. I want to import a 3D file from sketchup. I can import the file just fine, but when I try to create the 3d toolpath that's where things seem to go wrong.

    When I create the toolpath, I get a result the is the opposite of what I want. The finished part should be a square with a shape cut all the way through the material. What I get is a toolpath that stays above the material and never cuts anything. editOr I get the opposite, see the bmp file)

    I've attached a pdf of what the item should look like as well as the v-carve file. Any ideas?

    (Couldn't get the files to attach, use the links below)

    http://www.syzygytile.com/download/Die-Test.crv

    http://www.syzygytile.com/download/Die-Test.pdf

    http://www.syzygytile.com/download/Die-Test.bmp
    Last edited by syzygytile; 07-07-2015 at 06:33 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Silver City, New Mexico
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Ok, I've got more details. The problem seems to be related to the original sketchup model. If I create the shape where the cutout in the center is just an indentation instead of cut all the way through everything seems to work just fine. I've tried with several models and the behavior is consistent, you cannot get v-carve to cut all the way through material. Strange...

Similar Threads

  1. Am I cutting this correct?
    By sebago_signworks in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-11-2012, 09:11 PM
  2. Trouble with Toolpath in Visual Mill 5.0
    By johnnieb47 in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-20-2011, 08:27 PM
  3. Correct v bit
    By tree in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2009, 05:39 PM
  4. Direct Import from Sketchup 6 "Pro" to Partworks?
    By gerryv in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-25-2008, 08:49 PM
  5. Can I import SketchUp into PartWorks 3D?
    By jporter in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-30-2008, 05:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •