Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Presentation Plaque

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    47

    Default Presentation Plaque

    My Brother In Law asked for a plaque for his SGT, which was being promoted to LT.
    The base plaque is Red Oak with Cherry Stain
    The badge is Maple painted Gold
    Badge is inlayed into the base.
    First attempt at inlay

    The Other Plaque with a crest inlay is Maple and Black Walnut Inlay of JrROTC Crest.
    The crest was created with a modeling tool that creats a 3d model from a 2d picture.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Sun City West AZ
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Nice detail.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    4,057

    Default

    Nice Jerry.
    What size are they?
    scott
    Scott Plaisted
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 9
    Maine

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Scott
    The Police plaque is 15.25"
    the JrJROTC Plaque is 14.75
    both started with 1" Red Oak Base

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Gary
    Thanks
    Have to use special software on my PC Monitor to magnify the image.
    I am an Iraq Vet and Lost all sight in right eye and legally blind in the left.
    Was introduced to wood work during y Blind Rehab at the Birmingham AL VA Center.
    Give me pleasure to make it work when it does that ison my PC

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    4,057

    Default

    Thanks Jerry,
    Didn't see any obvious glue up lines, so I was wondering.
    Glad to see Desktop is behaving now
    scott
    Scott Plaisted
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 9
    Maine

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Scott
    It had a very fine glue line
    as to the Desktop
    It has to working levels
    GREAT
    as these plaques indicate
    SCREWED UP
    as the many scraps of wood and broken bits.

    Still
    having the EF (External Fault) error code, stopping the spindle
    I have been able to catch it sometimes and safe the work
    but others times lots of time and material wasted
    I do know what is NOT Causing the error
    Happens when the DC is not running
    AS best as I can tell (Legally Blind one eye total in other) wiring is NOT lost.

    DO you or any of the other fellow shopbotters have any idea what may be the cause?
    I do live in Miami, FL could small electrical fluctuations cause it?

    THanks

    Give me something to work on I Guess

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    4,057

    Default

    Shoot...Thought you were all fixed up
    LOUSY at electrical!
    Do know we had LV error, but no EF ever.
    Ours was country power, and the compressor kicking on may have had something to do with it also.
    UPS as a line conditioner solved ours, and made thunderstorms easier to deal with.
    Basically no idea.
    Seem to remember you called Tech Support?
    No help?
    Wish I knew more or lived closer.
    Totally in the dark here.
    Can't find that EF thread either. Can you link it?
    Hopefully someone who's had it can help.
    sorry,
    scott
    Scott Plaisted
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 9
    Maine

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Scott

    Thanks
    Will try the UPS
    Support did send some pictures of the wiring for me to check
    but thy seemed ok
    Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Kennebunkport, Maine
    Posts
    4,057

    Default "EF" Fault?

    Yes Jerry, I saw that error msg thread, but that was most likely caused by your MoveSpeed in your tool data base being set to low.
    Even though your wires would be correct, it can still be a bad/dirty connector or a wire crimp/break. I reach my tech limit on electrics by removing connectors/cleaning/reseating, and looking/feeling wires for nicked stuff.
    I'll look at any EF info I can find, but most is Greek to me
    Do you have a friend with a multi meter and understands Electricalese?
    Just wondering if Desktop is on its own 20A breaker with no other loads on it, and if breaker is next to a large/intermittent draw in the panel? AC maybe?
    Shooting in the dark though until I read more.
    Have you called tech again?
    scott
    Scott Plaisted
    2013 Desktop/spindle/VCP 9
    Maine

Similar Threads

  1. Pine plaque
    By pyrodenis in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-08-2016, 02:06 PM
  2. Presentation Case
    By mwpfeifer in forum Folder 2013
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-20-2013, 01:00 AM
  3. Sign design/presentation software
    By jshoes51 in forum Sign Making
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-20-2009, 08:27 PM
  4. Brush Sanding system; presentation and review
    By henrik_o in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 11-06-2008, 03:43 PM
  5. Using 1/4" plywood for plaque?
    By myxpykalix in forum Archives2006
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-13-2006, 07:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •