Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Freezing On a Jog

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Groton, CT
    Posts
    8

    Default Freezing On a Jog

    My BT48 Buddy is consistently freezing on certain jogs after cutting holes.

    In the example below it cuts fine to line 48. It completes the CG but stalls out, eventually timing out. At which time a "Location Matched to Tool..." message appears and a quick jump to "--Unexpected Return Fault--".

    The CG executes but the J3 does not.

    I Quit and then rerun starting at line 49, and it continues no problem until line 65 where I have a similar CG line followed by a J3 where it stops again. I have a series of these holes followed by jogs and it stops the same way at every one. Once it paused for a while before regaining its composure and moving on, but otherwise it has stopped at every similar combination of G-Code, and I've had similar problems on other cut files.

    The problem does not occur when the router is turned off for a dry run, but does recur when the router is on but there is no material to be cut.

    Any suggestions?
    Thanks,
    Nick


    IMG_2506.jpgIMG_2509.jpgIMG_2507.jpg
    [CODE]'----------------------------------------------------------------
    'SHOPBOT ROUTER FILE IN INCHES
    'GENERATED BY PARTWorks
    'Minimum extent in X = 0.000 Minimum extent in Y = 0.000 Minimum extent in Z = -1.000
    'Maximum extent in X = 6.000 Maximum extent in Y = 30.846 Maximum extent in Z = 0.000
    'Length of material in X = 6.000
    'Length of material in Y = 30.846
    'Depth of material in Z = 1.000
    'Home Position Information = Bottom Left Corner, Material Surface
    'Home X = 0.000000 Home Y = 0.000000 Home Z = 0.800000
    'Rapid clearance gap or Safe Z = 0.200
    'UNITS:Inches
    '
    IF %(25)=1 THEN GOTO UNIT_ERROR 'check to see software is set to standard
    SA 'Set program to absolute coordinate mode
    CN, 90
    'New Path
    'Toolpath Name = Countersink Predrill
    'Tool Name = 1/4" Down-cut (57-910)

    &PWSafeZ = 0.200
    &PWZorigin = Material Surface
    &PWMaterial = 1.000
    '&ToolName = "1/4" Down-cut (57-910)"
    &Tool =3 'Tool number to change to
    C9 'Change tool
    TR,12000 'Set spindle RPM
    C6 'Spindle on
    PAUSE 2
    '
    MS,3.0,2.0
    JZ,0.800000
    J3,3.576650,1.896842,0.200000
    M3,3.576650,1.896842,-0.125000
    CG, ,3.701650,1.771842,0.125000,0.000000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.826650,1.896842,0.000000,0.125000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.701650,2.021842,-0.125000,0.000000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.576650,1.896842,0.000000,-0.125000,T,-1
    M3,3.576650,1.896842,-0.250000
    CG, ,3.701650,1.771842,0.125000,0.000000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.826650,1.896842,0.000000,0.125000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.701650,2.021842,-0.125000,0.000000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.576650,1.896842,0.000000,-0.125000,T,-1
    M3,3.576650,1.896842,-0.375000
    CG, ,3.701650,1.771842,0.125000,0.000000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.826650,1.896842,0.000000,0.125000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.701650,2.021842,-0.125000,0.000000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.576650,1.896842,0.000000,-0.125000,T,-1
    J3,3.576650,1.896842,0.200000
    J3,3.232283,3.530674,0.200000
    M3,3.232283,3.530674,-0.125000
    CG, ,3.357283,3.655674,0.000000,0.125000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.232283,3.780674,-0.125000,0.000000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.107283,3.655674,0.000000,-0.125000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.232283,3.530674,0.125000,0.000000,T,-1
    M3,3.232283,3.530674,-0.250000
    CG, ,3.357283,3.655674,0.000000,0.125000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.232283,3.780674,-0.125000,0.000000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.107283,3.655674,0.000000,-0.125000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.232283,3.530674,0.125000,0.000000,T,-1
    M3,3.232283,3.530674,-0.375000
    CG, ,3.357283,3.655674,0.000000,0.125000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.232283,3.780674,-0.125000,0.000000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.107283,3.655674,0.000000,-0.125000,T,-1
    CG, ,3.232283,3.530674,0.125000,0.000000,T,-1
    J3,3.232283,3.530674,0.200000
    J3,3.957556,5.157669,0.200000
    M3,3.957556,5.157669,-0.125000
    ...
    ..
    .
    [/CODE]
    Last edited by Guillemot; 10-12-2015 at 08:54 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    iBILD Solutions - Southern NJ
    Posts
    7,986

    Default

    The first thing I see, is the MS @ 3,2; Specifically the 3" per second XY parameter. You have to take care not to defy the laws of physics...

    You aren't going to go 3 IPS cutting the inside of a 0.25" circle. SB3 will try to reduce speeds to compensate for improper programming speeds, but putting the right speeds in from the start is the preferred method.

    Try changing your speeds to: MS,0.5,1 and see if this makes a difference.

    -B
    High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced ShopBot CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Groton, CT
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thanks. It seems to help. Any idea why it would matter that the router is turned on vs off?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    iBILD Solutions - Southern NJ
    Posts
    7,986

    Default

    I don't know. I would imagine that it is possible that the router is sucking some good amps from that circuit and possibly limiting the maximum available power to the stepper motors. This may be more prevalent if the brushes are on their way out.

    It might be an interesting test to plug the router into a completely different circuit and see if that is the case.

    -B
    High Definition 3D Laser Scanning Services - Advanced ShopBot CNC Training and Consultation - Vectric Custom Video Training IBILD.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Thorp, WI
    Posts
    2,845

    Default

    Another thing to look at is, what version of SB3 are you running? There were some earlier versions of 3.8.XX that when one part of the file was finished cutting and it raised up to jog to the next part of the cut, it would stall or go off course after a bit. This would also happen more often on certain MS combinations like 2,1 and a few others. If you're running an earlier 3.8.XX version, I'd update to the latest version of 3.8.36.
    Scott




Similar Threads

  1. Bot Freezing Up?
    By creative_cabinetry in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-12-2013, 12:29 PM
  2. Spindle RPM Tool Freezing Up
    By jdervin in forum ShopBot Accessories
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 03-11-2011, 08:01 PM
  3. Bot freezing under v3.5.3
    By geneb in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-22-2008, 10:10 PM
  4. Parts wizard 2 freezing up
    By oddcoach in forum Archives2006
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-31-2006, 08:04 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •