Thread: New software- fusion, rhino, sketchup, desk proto???

Default New software- fusion, rhino, sketchup, desk proto???

I know this has been talked about before but I wanted to start a new thread to see take advantage of new updates, technologies, etc in late 2015.

Short version. Looking to model 3d, and cut 3d. What is best program or combination of programs for CAD and CAM? Specifically using an indexer, but also taking advantage of 3d slicing to do a layered assembly of larger 3d models, (think human sized) on machine bed.

I have been running aspire for quite some time, using it to model "3d" projects referenced from a flat plane. I've gotten to the point where I am very comfortable using the software and its advanced features, but I am ready for the next step in 3d design and wanted to hear the opinions of forum members on which program to go with for FULLY 3d work. As a point of reference, Vcarve and Aspire were my first CAD/CAM programs ever. I am not a designer, more of a guy who lifts heavy things. However I do learn quite quickly and just really want to start a dialogue to inspire some ideas on which program can take me to the next level.

From a CAD design perspective, sketch up seems pretty user friendly. I can draw full design models of simple furniture, etc. I have heard there are plug ins to port drawings over to aspire for nesting etc but it seems to fall short on modeling compared to Rhino?

I just downloaded the demo of rhino 5, and rhino cam. Although have no idea how to use either, I hear there are slicing functions built in to take apart an STL model? How is rhino cam running the bot? is it better to import STLs to aspire instead of using rhinocam?