Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: ply rocking horse

Default ply rocking horse

Back in 2012 when I purchased my Shopbot, I started drawing a rocking horse in Aspire, which I planned to build for my then 1 yr old son, Joseph.

Well, as time carried on (Joe's now almost 5) I never did get to it.

A few weeks ago, I found the file I started, and thought it was time to actually finish it up and make one for my other boy, Max, who's approaching 1 1/2.

The whole rocking horse is cut from a 1/2 (48" by 48") sheet of 12mm (1/2") Baltic birch plywood. The rockers are two layers, the head is three, and the body is kerfed from underneath, with a 1/8" bit, to bend neatly around the radius. There is one other rectangular piece of ply set into a groove where the radius stops. The body is very strong.

The only other part is a few lengths of maple dowel I turned on my big copy lathe.

I have to make a few small tweaks to the file (want to move the placement of the holes in the body a wee bit to have the horse sit a bit more towards the rear at rest). But if anyone wants the file let me know, I'd be happy to share. I cut it out with a 1/4" bit and did the kerfs with a 1/8" bit. WHen you bend the ply the kerfs close up, and I got the spacing bang on.

Here is my older son, Joe, testing the thing out before Christmas...

Andrew

Thats is fantastic! Looks great and lots of fun for the little ones. I've been thinking of doing something similar, would love the file to play with.
    Daniel E.
    ShopBot PRS 48x96 (2010 Model)
    Porter Cable Router
    Vacuum Table w/ 2 Fein vacs
    Aspire 9.0

What I do when I don't mess up wood: http://www.pathhome.net

Dan,
    Just send me a PM with your email. I will tidy up the file today if I can (just tweaking a few minor things) and send it out. I am also adding the tail, which I cut by hand on the band saw, but there is lots of room to put it onto the material as well.