Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buddy for Sign Shop Use

Default Buddy for Sign Shop Use

I am thinking of purchasing a "Buddy" for my small sign shop for v-carving, contour cutting, etc. Are there any other users that use the buddy in their shop's? Thank you in advance.

You could check out the ShopBotter Message Board for a thread called Buying a Buddy ???...back on 8-23-2008. I started that thread because I am thinking of buying a Buddy to start a sign business.
    Got any advice for starting a sign business???

Yes, I have had a BT48 for 2 months now. It is a perfect fir for our small woodworking shop. I am constantly seeing new ways to use it. Best Tool investment We have made for our shop.

Michael,

Are you using the extensions so you could work with a larger sub-straight? If so, how goes it? How is the learning curve on this. I have no CNC background.

Devin,

Let me jump in to address your question on the learning curve.

I have had my ShopBot for about 2 1/2" years now. When I ordered it, I had a son still at home and he had taken CAD in High School and assured me that he could draw what I needed him to. Then he moved out, got married and has not drawn a single thing for me to date. I thought I was going to be lost. Short story is I feel I can draw, toolpath and cut anything I want to. I also know that if I get in a bind and cannot figure it out, there are lots of people on this forum, and at ShopBot that will be there to help me. I don't give drawing a second thought now.