Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Weight limits on Power Stick

Default Weight limits on Power Stick

Hello All,
    My apologies if this information is in the forum but I've missed it. I'm a newbie with a PRSAlpha BT48 and the 8 foot power stick. Both the SB manuals and the forum threads suggest that you need to keep the weight down for the sake of the x-axis motor (with it being less of a problem for the alpha). While I realize that there is not maximum suggested weight, I'd like to know what range is acceptable and what is getting towards too heavy (deck and material total).

Thanks in advance.
    Mike

Mike,

I was so excited when I bought my Buddy and the 12' PowerStick that I never asked those questions. I am learning the hard way that the extra weight can indeed cause problems. I am currently cutting tests for a 4' x 6' sign for a Kiwanis Park (and everyone and his brother that donated a penny wants their name on it) and the small letters at the bottom of the sign are giving me fits as the Buddy can't keep up with the movement required and I have 'o's that are not exactly round and 'w's that are pretty hard to read. An 8 foot stick might help this problem a little bit but I'll be real interested to see what kind of responses you get to this post.

Welcome aboard! You will learn a lot from everyone here! I got my Buddy in October of last year and this forum has been a godsend!!

Mike