Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Intro and dumb questions about Desktop Max

Default Intro and dumb questions about Desktop Max

Hey everybody

As I mentioned on another thread, I just pulled my first CNC machine out of the crate on Monday. My wife's side sign & gift business has been pretty successful so we spent the proceeds (and a bit of our personal $) on a serious upgrade to her Cricut :-)

I'm brand new to CNC but I've spent my entire career dealing with CAD and 3D modeling (architectural BIM software to be specific). I've already gone through all the Vectric tutorials and am picking up VCarve pretty quickly.

I've run into a few issues in my first week and I'm not finding anything in the search because I don't know the right terms to even use for this, so I hope you'll forgive a few dumb questions early on. I promise, I will learn quickly and be a contributing member soon!

My most annoying problem so far is this one: when I surfaced my spoil board, there were lines running parallel to the gantry (Y axis?). I also see the same thing any time I use my 1/2" bit. I'm guessing the spindle isn't exactly square to the table, but I can't quite figure out how to tell or how to even measure what I'm guessing is a decimal of a degree so that I don't overcorrect and have to re-run the routine and trial-and-error it 20 times. Does anyone have a recommendation for how to measure and correct this?

The best way to check it is by rigging up a trammel and using a dial indicator and/or feeler gauges.
    Just take a stiff wire that is close enough diameter/wise to chuck up in your collet and bend it so you have the end point close to your spoilboard and a 6" or so radius and check by rotating the head by hand.
    Desktops are supposed to come with z properly plumb to start with. Once you have your trammel rigged up you may want to get hold of SB support.
    Specific experience on a Max is going to be in short supply here for a little while since it is so new.