Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Use of ShopBot in high school woodworking program

jvaldez@gusd.k12.ca.us Guest

Default Use of ShopBot in high school woodworking program

Hi shop botters,
    I have been trying to get info on the ShopBot unit to use in a High School woodworking program. Do we have any drafting/woodworking/technology teachers that are using the Shopbot CNC unit in a school setting? I am seriously interested in purchasing one of these unit for my program but I would like get more info on the unit to see if it would be applicable and beneficial to my program. I welcome any and all information on the subject from any and all sources. I would also like to make contact with someone who is using this unit and is located in the San Jose/San Francisco bay area. Thank you in advance for your input.

gary999s@aol.com Guest

Ed_ufford@rsd.edu Guest

To Jesus Valdez---
    I am also a Woodworking/Drafting/Technology teacher in Richland, Washington. My students have been using the ShopBot for over 4 years now with great success. Last year my class received contract to build 14 custom two-sided bookcases for a local bookstore. We used the Shopbot to cut 90% of the project and drill over 5000 shelve pin holes. Saved us about 2 months worth of work-- and every bookcase was perfect. If your Drafting students know CADD, then converting a CADD file to a Shopbot file is simple. We also used it to make an 8 foot 3D Falcon out of plywood and various other projects. This is a great low cost machine. Get it if you can.
    Email, me if you would like more info.

Jesus,
    I have a ShopBot in your area.
    I sent you an e-mail, but it bounced back.
    Send me an e-mail, I will send you info.
    Rick

speicher@totelcsi.net Guest