Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: F1 In School and Indexer

Default F1 In School and Indexer

I'm a teacher (Project Lead the Way - Intro to Engineering) using F1 in Schools - CO2 cars - projects in my course.

I have the Shobot Desktop use use for TONS of different projects but I haven't used the Indexer other than a few projects needing symmetric round parts - so I know the basics for using our 3" indexer.

I'm HOPING we can use the Destop/indexer to meet the CNC requirement of the competition so I don't have to get a different machine - I really love my SP

We are required to use a pre-cut (official) block which was Balsa previously, but is a type of plastic starting next year. The dimensions are here:

f1_block.jpg

As you can see, this is a square block!
    About 2.5" x 3" x 8" long

The model I'm trying to chunch out looks like this:

f1_body.jpg

Is this even possible?

Thanks for any tips and suggestions you might have for me!

- Les

... Humm, its been a few days, not looking too good for us to use the indexer.
    I'm still researching though - any tips are appreciated!

- Savoy/Les

You could do most of it on the indexer. What software do you have? You might be better off doing a 2or 4 sided machining strategy. The rear airfoil would probably be a problem.

I have been plan running some CO2 cars on ours and I plan on using 2/4 sided machining.
    Kyle Stapleton
    River Falls Renaissance Academy
    Math/Technology Education Teacher

PRS Alpha 96x60 2.2 hp spindle, Double Air drills, 6" indexer, Fein 5 zone vac table
    Desktop w/spindle
    Potter Pen
    Aspire 8.5, Creo 3.0

Quote Originally Posted by waynelocke View Post
    You could do most of it on the indexer. What software do you have? You might be better off doing a 2or 4 sided machining strategy. The rear airfoil would probably be a problem.
    That is what I'm hoping (having the indexer do most of the work) - I'm using Aspire 8.

Savoy...