Thread: Thoughts on my vac box attempt?

Default Thoughts on my vac box attempt?

I'm brand new to CAD and to CNC so I'm learning as I go. I basically copied this box from a thread picture I found here on this forum. This will be for 4 of these motors here.

I'm wondering if I should put some exhaust fans on the bottom of the box instead of the curved exhaust vent on the bottom. I feel like this won't be enough area to vent the exhaust for both the vaccum and the motor cooling. What do you think? Box dimensions are 48" x 29.5". I'm not sure how to post up the file for it at this point but if I figure it out, I will.

Good job learning the Fusion 360, I've been playing around with it and have enjoyed using it. As for the vacuum box, I built one almost exactly like that based off Gary's design (The Black Box) and also used a lot of info from the vacuum threads from Brady. I don't use my Shopbot constantly and have had the box built for about 2 years and about 100 hours into running 2 of the motors went out. One burned up and the other one's bearings/impeller fell apart. You could tell they were getting way to hot because the foam gasket I installed on the bottom of them had melted and deformed a good bit. After talking with Butch at Lighthouse motors about it, he informed me that the newer designs of this box have some extra design considerations to keep the motors from burning up. I'm not sure what they are and if I had to do it again, I would most likely just purchase the unit since it's now for sale (I think it's called the Hurricane). My current plan is to take apart my box and just mount the motors externally so there is plenty of air movement.